Accumulation and Stability Under Capitalism by Prabhat Patnaik
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Accumulation and Stability Under Capitalism
By Prabhat Patnaik

Accumulation and Stability Under Capitalism

By (author) See other recent books by Prabhat Patnaik
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $215.95
Your Price: $194.36 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $21.60! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $9.72 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Accumulation and Stability Under Capitalism by Prabhat Patnaik

Book Description

Prabhat Patnaik's starting point is the fundamental question of how we can explain the resilience and durability of capitalist economies - after all, the writings of most of the giants among economists have been permeated by a sense of the transitoriness of capitalism. His argument is that the existence of a periphery of less developed countries provides a buffer that allows (relatively) crisis-free and non-inflationary growth in the capitalist core. The analysis unifies two fields that are normally separate: models of growth and stabilization policy in advanced economies and the economics of open developing economies. Consequently, Patnaik embraces both a thorough analysis of modern fiscal, monetary, and inflation policy in advanced capitalist economies and the constraints that systematically hinder development in less developed countries. Accumulation and Stability under Capitalism uses macroeconomic principles to solve problems currently addressed with microeconomic tools, establishing macroeconomics as a framework for analysing phenomena as wide-ranging as migration, imperialist systems, technological change, and labour markets. In the tradition of Keynes, Harrod and Domar, Marx, and Kalecki, it offers an alternative path to the choice-theoretic models that have appeared to be the only modern analytical path.

Buy Accumulation and Stability Under Capitalism book by Prabhat Patnaik from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780198288053
ISBN-10: 0198288050
Format: Hardback
(223mm x 144mm x 24mm)
Pages: 330
Imprint: Clarendon Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 20-Feb-1997
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Prabhat Patnaik

Re-Envisioning Socialism by Prabhat Patnaik Re-Envisioning Socialism, Paperback (February 2012)

The papers collected in this volume, though based on a certain understanding of the capitalist economy, are by and large not papers on economics. They mainly concern issues of politics and ideology. Prabhat Patnaik is currently Vice-Chairman of the State Planning Board, Government of Kerala.

» View all books by Prabhat Patnaik

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Accumulation and Stability Under Capitalism book by Prabhat Patnaik and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Prabhat Patnaik close
Theory of Imperialism by Prabhat Patnaik
ICSSR Research Surveys and Explorations by Prabhat Patnaik
Re-Envisioning Socialism by Prabhat Patnaik
Value of Money by Prabhat Patnaik
Karl Marx on India by Prabhat Patnaik
Excursus in History - Essays on Some Ideas of Irfan Habib by Prabhat Patnaik
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close