Across the Mersey by Annie Groves
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Across the Mersey
By Annie Groves

Across the Mersey

By (author) See other recent books by Annie Groves
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $20.43
Your Price: $18.38 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.04! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.92 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Across the Mersey by Annie Groves

Book Description

From the author of The Grafton Girls comes the story of one Liverpool family preparing for the onslaught of World War Two, but feuding amongst themselves...Jean and Vi are twins but couldn't be more different. Jean's proud of her honest, hardworking husband and their children, but there's never a penny to spare. Vi's equally proud of her husband's new role as a local councillor and their elegant new house, and has raised her children to expect the best. As war breaks out, agonising decisions must be faced. Should the oldest children enlist? Should the youngest be evacuated? All the traditional certainties are overturned. Then the twins' own younger sister, singer Francine, returns home unexpectedly and stirs up the past, even in the midst of present danger. This is a tremendous saga of fighting spirit and family closeness, and the belief that even though today is full of destruction and pain, there is hope for a better tomorrow.

Buy Across the Mersey book by Annie Groves from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780007265282
ISBN-10: 000726528X
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 111mm x 36mm)
Pages: 512
Imprint: Harper
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 4-Aug-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Annie Groves

Mersey Daughter by Annie Groves Mersey Daughter, Paperback (April 2017)

The brand new Wartime drama novel from bestselling author Annie Groves, perfect for fans of Christmas on the Mersey and Child of the Mersey.

Christmas on the Mersey by Annie Groves Christmas on the Mersey, Paperback (October 2014)

An emotional and compelling wartime drama from the author of Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.

Child of the Mersey by Annie Groves Child of the Mersey, Paperback (August 2014)

A brand new series from the bestselling author of A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.

Christmas Promise by Annie Groves Christmas Promise, Paperback (October 2013)

An emotional and heart-warming portrayal of the lives of four women living in wartime London.

» View all books by Annie Groves


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Across the Mersey book by Annie Groves and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Annie Groves

Annie Groves was born and lived in the north-west of England all of her life. She was the author of the Pride family series, Ellie Pride, Connie's Courage and Hettie of Hope Street, for which she drew upon her own family's history, picked up from listening to her grandmother's stories when she was a child. Her next set of novels was the World War II series Goodnight Sweetheart, Some Sunny Day, The Grafton Girls and As Time Goes By. These were followed by the Campion series, Across the Mersey, Daughters of Liverpool, The Heart of the Family, Where the Heart Is and When the Lights Go on Again, which are also based on recollections from members of her family, who come from the city of Liverpool. My Sweet Valentine follows on from Home for Christmas and London Belles and is the third in this series, which introduces a set of glorious characters living in Article Row in Holborn. Annie Groves, whose real name was Penny Halsall, also wrote under the name of Penny Jordan and was an international bestselling author of over 170 novels with sales of over 84 million copies. Sadly, Penny Halsall died in 2011. She left a wonderful legacy of heart-warming novels for many more fans to discover and she will be greatly missed by all who knew her. The final books in the Article Row series, Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise, will be published posthumously in 2013.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Annie Groves close
Mersey Daughter by Annie Groves
Christmas on the Mersey by Annie Groves
Child of the Mersey by Annie Groves
Christmas Promise by Annie Groves
Only a Mother Knows by Annie Groves
My Sweet Valentine by Annie Groves
Home for Christmas by Annie Groves
London Belles by Annie Groves
When the Lights Go on Again by Annie Groves
Where the Heart Is by Annie Groves
Heart of the Family by Annie Groves
Daughters of Liverpool by Annie Groves
As Time Goes by by Annie Groves
Grafton Girls by Annie Groves
Some Sunny Day by Annie Groves
Goodnight Sweetheart by Annie Groves
Hettie of Hope Street by Annie Groves
Ellie Pride by Annie Groves
» close