Affection by Ian Townsend
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Affection
By Ian Townsend

Affection

There is No Cure

By (author) See other recent books by Ian Townsend
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...




Affection by Ian Townsend

Book Description

January 1900, and Australia's tropical north just got a little hotter. An outbreak of plague is suspected, and the Queensland Government sends Dr Alfred Jefferis Turner - small, refined and immaculately dressed - to assess the situation. Turner, armed with a microscope, a butterfly net and his lovelorn yet devout colleague, Dr Linford Row, is met with incredulity, not least by local councillors who insist it's only typhoid. Fifty-two possible plague-carriers - including two prominent MPs - are isolated in a dilapidated quarantine station on Magnetic Island. Meanwhile, in town, the sewers overflow, the streets choke with rubbish; and still no-one wants to listen. When Dr Row delivers a letter from one of the quarantined men to his hauntingly beautiful wife, he ensnares both himself and the eccentric Dr Turner in a hotbed of small-town scandal and fear. Written with wit and wonder, Affection uncovers a unique period in Australian history. A novel based on a true story of shonky politics, courageous medicos, and humidity, it's also a mystery of heart and mind.

Buy Affection book by Ian Townsend from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780732286279
ISBN-10: 0732286271
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (198mm x 127mm x 27mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Harper Perennial
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publish Date: 1-May-2007
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Company You Keep by Neil Gordon Company You Keep by Neil Gordon

A smart, action-packed political thriller from the author of The Company You Keep and You're A Big Girl Now, perfect for fans of John Le Carre.

Local Souls by Allan Gurganus Local Souls by Allan Gurganus

This book underscores what we have long known Gurganus stands among the best writers of our time. Ann Patchett"

Last Words from Montmartre by Qiu Miaojin Last Words from Montmartre by Qiu Miaojin

Last Words from Montmartre is a novel in letters that narrates the gradual dissolution of a relationship between two lovers and, ultimately, the complete unraveling of the narrator.

Licence of War by V. C. Letemendia Licence of War by V. C. Letemendia

1643: England is descending into a bloodier Civil War, and Beaumont, born a nobleman's heir but with a shadowy past as a mercenary turncoat and spy, has been hired against his will as agent to the King's new Secretary of State, the manipulative Lord Digby.

» View more books like these...

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Affection book by Ian Townsend and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Ian Townsend close
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close