Affection by Ian Townsend
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Affection
By Ian Townsend

Affection

There is No Cure

By (author) See other recent books by Ian Townsend
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $24.99
Your Price: $22.49 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.12 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days



Affection by Ian Townsend

Book Description

Shortlisted for the National Year of Reading 2012 Award January 1900, and Australia's tropical north just got a little hotter. An outbreak of plague is suspected, and the Queensland Government sends Dr Alfred Jefferis Turner - small, refined and immaculately dressed - to assess the situation. Turner, armed with a microscope, a butterfly net and his lovelorn yet devout colleague, Dr Linford Row, is met with incredulity, not least by local councillors who insist it's only typhoid. Fifty-two possible plague-carriers - including two prominent MPs - are isolated in a dilapidated quarantine station on Magnetic Island. Meanwhile, in town, the sewers overflow, the streets choke with rubbish; and still no-one wants to listen. When Dr Row delivers a letter from one of the quarantined men to his hauntingly beautiful wife, he ensnares both himself and the eccentric Dr Turner in a hotbed of small-town scandal and fear. Written with wit and wonder, Affection uncovers a unique period in Australian history. A novel based on a true story of shonky politics, courageous medicos, and humidity, it's also a mystery of heart and mind.

Buy Affection book by Ian Townsend from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780732286279
ISBN-10: 0732286271
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (198mm x 127mm x 27mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Harper Perennial
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publish Date: 1-May-2007
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Guys Like Me by Dominique Fabre Guys Like Me by Dominique Fabre

An ode to Paris as rarely seen--a minutely observed tale about searching for love and a new lease on life.

Werewolf Cop - A Novel by Andrew Klavan Werewolf Cop - A Novel by Andrew Klavan

From Edgar Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Andrew Klavan, a supernatural thriller about a good cop in the grips of an evil curse. In the tradition of Dexter and The Shield, the first in a riveting trilogy about a crime-fighter on a quest to control the beast within.

Orient by Christopher Bollen Orient by Christopher Bollen

A literary thriller set in a tiny community on Long Island, shaken to the core by a series of murders.

Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth

Offers a love story as well as the tale of a country awakening from long years of colonial rule. This title is about Lata, and of her mother's exacting attempts to find her the perfect husband. It also recounts India's troubles shaping its own destiny as the country marches towards its first great General Election.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Ian Townsend

No Going Back by Ian Townsend No Going Back, Paperback / softback (November 2012)

An adventure based on real events, "No Going Back" begins with a getaway aboard a yacht. Slipping out of Vancouver Harbour under cover of darkness, Ian Townsend escapes with his son David, fleeing barely ahead of the authorities who had seized his young son and put him into care after the tragic death of his mother.

Devil's Eye by Ian Townsend Devil's Eye, Paperback (August 2008)

It is the end of the nineteenth century, and one of the most powerful storms in history is born when a hurricane named Mahina moves across the Coral Sea - a storm that is about to cause Australia's deadliest natural disaster. Based on real events, this is the story of an unstoppable force of nature and the birth and death of an Australian dream.

» View all books by Ian Townsend

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Affection book by Ian Townsend and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Ian Townsend close
Accidental Encounter by Ian Townsend
No Going Back by Ian Townsend
Devil's Eye by Ian Townsend
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close