After the Wake by Brendan Behan
Look inside with Google Book Preview
After the Wake
By Brendan Behan

After the Wake

By (author) See other recent books by Brendan Behan
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $20.43
Your Price: $18.38 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.04! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.92 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

After the Wake by Brendan Behan

Book Description

Brendan Behan's genius was to strike a chord between critic and common man. When he died, at the age of 41, he was arguably the most celebrated Irish writer of the twentieth century. After the Wake is a collection of seven prose works and a series of articles. It includes all that exists of an unfinished novel, 'The Catacombs', and pieces together items whose comic and fanciful accounts evoke Flann O'Brien. Also featured are works of acknowledged excellence, 'The Confirmation Suit' and 'A Woman of No Standing'. This writing bears all the hallmarks of the author's talent - an ability to bring characters to life quickly and unforgettably, a sharp ear for dialogue and dialect, and a natural vocation for story-telling. This diverse collection is a delightful and entertaining windfall from one of Ireland's most colourful writers. An essential complement to Behan's master works.

Buy After the Wake book by Brendan Behan from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780862780319
ISBN-10: 0862780314
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 130mm x 11mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: O'Brien Press Ltd
Publisher: O'Brien Press Ltd
Publish Date: 30-Nov-1983
Country of Publication: Ireland

Other Editions...

Books By Author Brendan Behan

Methuen Drama Anthology of Irish Plays by Brendan Behan Methuen Drama Anthology of Irish Plays, Paperback (August 2008)

A scintillating collection of five plays from the last sixty years of Irish drama featuring work by Behan, Barry, Reid, Murphy, and McDonagh, and introduced by Patrick Lonergan.

Behan Complete Plays by Brendan Behan Behan Complete Plays, Paperback (August 1978)

This work brings together all the theatrical works of the groundbreaking Irish playwright Brendan Behan. As well as containing his famous full-length plays, such as "The Hostage", the book also showcases three intensely autobiographical one-act plays, originally written for radio.

» View all books by Brendan Behan


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about After the Wake book by Brendan Behan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Brendan Behan

Brendan Behan was born in Dublin in 1923. In 1954 his play, The Quare Fellow, was accepted for production by the Pike Theatre in Dublin. Another play, The Hostage, and his autobiographical Borstal Boy make him an international name. Brendan Behan died in 1964.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Brendan Behan close
Borstal Boy by Brendan Behan
Methuen Drama Anthology of Irish Plays by Brendan Behan
Confessions of an Irish Rebel by Brendan Behan
Borstal Boy by Brendan Behan
Behan Complete Plays by Brendan Behan
Hostage by Brendan Behan
» close