Alexander at World's End by Tom Holt
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Alexander at World's End
By Tom Holt

Alexander at World's End

By (author) See other recent books by Tom Holt
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $24.99
Your Price: $22.49 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.12 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Alexander at World's End by Tom Holt

Book Description

When his father dies, and he is reduced at a stroke from prosperity to penury, Euxenus decides to leave Athens and seek his fortune elsewhere. As a philosopher and intellectual of some note, he has no difficulty getting a job as tutor to a young prince in the wealthy but utterly provincial court of King Philip of Macedon. The young prince is called Alexander, and the rest is history. Or is it? Alexander conquered Greece, Egypt and the Persian Empire in the course of eight years, amassing a huge army along the way, and leaving behind him the foundations of countless new cities named after him. He proclaimed himself a deity, and died at the age of 33. In ALEXANDER AT THE WORLD'S END, Tom Holt tells the story of two remarkable men, one of whom conquered empires and one of whom struggled to overcome the drainage problems of a small village. It is a story of two men whose paths crossed only briefly, but whose encounter changed both their lives for ever. And it is a story which throws an extraordinary new light on the man who became Alexander the Great.

Buy Alexander at World's End book by Tom Holt from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780349113159
ISBN-10: 0349113157
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 126mm x 28mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Abacus
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 4-May-2000
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Tom Holt

Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt Good, the Bad and the Smug, Paperback (July 2015)

A witty fantasy novel of good, evil and everything inbetween, from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams

When it's Ajar by Tom Holt When it's Ajar, Paperback (December 2013)

An absurdly witty novel of alternate universes and very unlikely heroes from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett

When It's a Jar by Tom Holt When It's a Jar, Paperback / softback (December 2013)

A man slays a dragon that had has his girlfriend spirited away with a bread knife, while another man wakes up trapped in a jar.

» View all books by Tom Holt


UK Kirkus Review » On a huge, crowded, canvas Holt paints with a sure and steady hand, and a profusion of radiant colours, a story of ancient times which is part fact, part history, part myth, about a man, near super-human, who conquered the world, built an empire - and died remantically young. Alexander the Great's dazzling exploits sometimes blur the edges of the man himself, but the author's affectionate regard, and his astonishing ability to inhabit a world so distant in time, bring the young Alexander almost into the room where the reader sits. The miracle is performed by Euxenus (grandson of the great comic poet Eupolis of Pallene), apprentice to Diogenes, student of philosophy and military history. When King Philip of Macedon (Alexander's father) threatens Athens, Euxenus is sent as one of a delegation on a diplomatic mission to meet Philip. At Philip's Court he meets Alexander - a quick, intelligent but impatient boy of ten. Perspicaciously Euxenus sums up the boy who is to become his pupil as having 'no interest in anything that wasn't needed for the work in hand; he selected the qualities that made him up like a man packing for a long journey, taking with him only the things he knew he'd need... ' a single-mindedness which perhaps made Alexander Great - but not a well rounded character. Nevertheless the boy made an impression on Euxenus - as Euxenus did on Alexander and his father - a mutual regard that was to keep Euxenus by Alexander's side as a tutor during his early, formative years. But Euxenus had adventures of his own; this is more his story than Alexander's. A good, meaty, scholarly novel, written with the lightest of touches, an enormous amount not only of scholarly expertise but of sheer enjoyment, which the author transfers effortlessly to the reader; to be read leisurely - there are too many good jokes, too much good writing, and too much illuminating historical background to skim, or skip. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Alexander at World's End book by Tom Holt and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Tom Holt

Tom Holt is the author of comic fantasy classics such as WHO'S AFRAID OF BEOWULF?, WISH YOU WERE HERE and ONLY HUMAN, and historical fiction including THE WALLED ORCHARD and OLYMPIAD.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Tom Holt close
Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt
Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt
Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt
Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt
When it's Ajar by Tom Holt
When It's a Jar by Tom Holt
Doughnut by Tom Holt
Doughnut by Tom Holt
Lucia Triumphant by Tom Holt
Lucia in Wartime by Tom Holt
Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Sausages by Tom Holt
Blonde Bombshell by Tom Holt
May Contain Traces of Magic by Tom Holt
Better Mousetrap by Tom Holt
Barking by Tom Holt
You Don't Have to be Evil to Work Here, But it Helps by Tom Holt
Earth, Air, Fire and Custard by Tom Holt
In Your Dreams by Tom Holt
Fishy Wishes by Tom Holt
Saints and Sinners by Tom Holt
» close