Ambergate by Patricia Elliott
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Patricia Elliott


By (author) See other recent books by Patricia Elliott
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $16.99
Your Price: $15.29 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.76 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Ambergate by Patricia Elliott

Book Description

I am the girl with no name ...I have a secret I must never tell. If I do, they will come after me - the Protector and his men. Only a number branded on her arm betrays the orphan girl's past. When she arrives at Murkmere Hall to be a kitchen maid, they call her Scuff, and little guess she has committed a terrible crime. Haunted by her dark secret, all Scuff can do is pray to the divine beings - the birds - for forgiveness. Now, five years later, the past is catching up with Scuff. Hunted from all sides, she flees Murkmere, only to be forced back to the cruel confines of the Capital, and the Orphans' Home where it all began. Set in the capital city, this has a very different feel from Murkmere, but is still grounded in the bird tradition, superstition and religion that haunts the first book.

Buy Ambergate book by Patricia Elliott from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780340882467
ISBN-10: 0340882468
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 128mm x 27mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Publish Date: 17-Mar-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Patricia Elliott

Ship of Spectres by Patricia Elliott Ship of Spectres, Paperback (November 2016)

If you like Jacqueline Wilson's Hetty Feather, then get ready to meet Connie Carew - a new heroine for a 'new' age, with a nose for mystery and adventure.

House of Eyes by Patricia Elliott House of Eyes, Paperback (July 2015)

Nancy Drew mysteries for the Downton Abbey generation - perfect for fans of Murder Most Unladylike and Hetty Feather.

Devil in the Corner by Patricia Elliott Devil in the Corner, Paperback (March 2014)

A dark, Gothic tale of stolen birthrights, unrequited love and addiction from the acclaimed author of THE PIMPERNELLES books.

Traitor's Smile by Patricia Elliott Traitor's Smile, Hardback (October 2011)

Originally published: London: Hodder Children's Books, 2010.

» View all books by Patricia Elliott


US Kirkus Review » Scuff the kitchen drudge is forced on a journey that broadens and deepens the touchingly chilly, gothic world readers first saw in Murkmere (2006). Ominous and ever-present religion dictates fear and worship of birds, and the land is ruled by an evil Protectorate. Scuff, timid and sober, quails when soldiers show up seeking her at Murkmere. Unable to erase the scar on her arm marking her as Number 102 from the Capital's orphanage, she assumes they've learned of her childhood crime and flees into the marshy Wasteland. Pursued a la Jean Valjean, she meets mysterious Erland, gets trapped in a house of ill repute and ends up back in the terrifying Capital. All the complications - Erland's double identity, Scuff's unknown parentage, unsavory royalty and rebels, and the reappearance of Leah, whom readers will remember as avia (part swan) - weave together in a beautiful climax that pains the heart and intrigues the mind. Mystical, stoic and poignant all at once. (Fantasy. YA) (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Ambergate book by Patricia Elliott and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Patricia Elliott

Patricia Elliott was born in London, but grew up in Europe and the Far East. A voracious reader since childhood 'where she had the resources of ten different school libraries', she also made up ghost stories to scare her friends! As an adult, she worked in publishing in London and in a children's bookshop in New York. She now teaches a course in children's literature at an adult education college, and is writing further novels. She lives in Barnes with her husband and two sons. Her first book, The Ice Boy, won the Fidler Award for a first novel, was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award and the West Sussex award. Her second novel, Murkmere, was longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Award.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Patricia Elliott close
Ship of Spectres by Patricia Elliott
House of Eyes by Patricia Elliott
Devil in the Corner by Patricia Elliott
Traitor's Smile by Patricia Elliott
Traitor's Smile by Patricia Elliott
Pale Assassin by Patricia Elliott
Pale Assassin by Patricia Elliott
Night Walker by Patricia Elliott
Ice Boy by Patricia Elliott
» close