American Beauty: the Shooting Script by Alan Ball
Look inside with Google Book Preview
"American Beauty": the Shooting Script
By Alan Ball

"American Beauty": the Shooting Script

By (author) See other recent books by Alan Ball
Format: Paperback
SAVE
$6.38

Normal Price: $39.87
Your Price: $33.49 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $6.38! (16% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.67 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



American Beauty: the Shooting Script by Alan Ball

Book Description

On a typical suburban street in a typical suburban town, there is an ordinary family living the American dream. But look closer. Lester Burnham's wife, Carolyn, regards him with contempt, his daughter, Jane, thinks he's a loser, and his boss is positioning him for the ax.Captivated by Jane's sultry high school friend Angela, Lester decides to make a few changes in his mere existence changes that are less mid-life crisis than a life reclaimed.The freer he gets, the happier he gets, which is even more maddening to his wife and daughter. Complicating matters, Lester finds an unexpected ally in Ricky, the teenage son of the new next-door neighbors, who sees life through a camera lens that has lately focused on Jane Burnham.In pursuit of his new vision of the American dream, Lester is about to learn that the ultimate freedom comes at the ultimate price.The 1999 winner of five Academy Awards(r), including Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay, American Beauty boasts an accomplished cast led by two-time Academy Award(r) Best Actor winner Kevin Spacey (The Usual Suspects) and Oscar(r) nominee Annette Bening (The Grifters).The ensemble cast also includes Thora Birch (Ghost World), Wes Bentley (The Claim), Mena Suvari (American Pie), Peter Gallagher (Mr. Deeds), Allison Janney (NBC's The West Wing), Scott Bakula (NBC's Quantum Leap), Sam Robards (A.I.: Artificial Intelligence), and Chris Cooper (Adaptation).American Beauty marks the feature film directorial debut of award-winning theater director Sam Mendes (The Blue Room, Cabaret). The film is produced by Dan Jinks (Nothing to Lose) and Bruce Cohen (The Flintstones in Viva Rock Vegas) from an original screenplay by Alan Ball (HBO's Six Feet Under). Stan Wlodkowski (One Hour Photo) and Alan Ball are the co-producers.

Buy "American Beauty": the Shooting Script book by Alan Ball from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781557044044
ISBN-10: 155704404X
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 231mm x 10mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Newmarket Press,U.S.
Publisher: Newmarket Press,U.S.
Publish Date: 6-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author Alan Ball

True Blood by Alan Ball True Blood, Paperback (July 2013)

Blood and passion mix on a hot rainy night at Merlotte's as Sookie and the usual suspects settle in for the long haul. Until, that is, they find themselves unexpectedly trapped by a vengeful, vile creature who feeds off the miserable shame of others - and none will survive the morning unless all their dirty little secrets are revealed.

Playing Extra Time by Alan Ball Playing Extra Time, Paperback (July 2013)

The autobiograpy of a legendary figure in football and an inspirational story with wide appeal

True Blood Drinks and Bites by Alan Ball True Blood Drinks and Bites, Hardback (July 2013)

A sexy, fun impulse-buy cookbook that is perfect for fans of True Blood. Perfect for parties with a focus on finger food and drinks.

» View all books by Alan Ball

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about "American Beauty": the Shooting Script book by Alan Ball and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Alan Ball close
True Blood by Alan Ball
Playing Extra Time by Alan Ball
True Blood Drinks and Bites by Alan Ball
True Blood by Alan Ball
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close