Appleby and the Ospreys by Michael Innes
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Appleby and the Ospreys
By Michael Innes

Appleby and the Ospreys

New edition

By (author) See other recent books by Michael Innes
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...

Appleby and the Ospreys by Michael Innes

Book Description

Clusters, a great country house, is troubled by bats, as Lord and Lady Osprey complain to their guests, who include first rate detective, Sir John Appleby. In the matter of bats, Appleby is indifferent, but he is soon faced with a real challenge - the murder of Lord Osprey, stabbed with an ornate dagger in the library.

Buy Appleby and the Ospreys book by Michael Innes from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781842327197
ISBN-10: 1842327194
Format: Paperback
(205mm x 135mm x 11mm)
Pages: 168
Imprint: House of Stratus
Publisher: House of Stratus
Publish Date: 12-Feb-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Michael Innes

What Happened at Hazelwood by Michael Innes What Happened at Hazelwood, Paperback (April 2001)

The Simney family, of Hazelwood Hall, have a dubious history. Sir George Simney, who was travelling in Australia before the baronetcy fell to him, sleeps with a shotgun by his side. When he is found dead in the library, the Reverend Adrian Deamer will not rest until he has discovered who is responsible.

Mysterious Commission by Michael Innes Mysterious Commission, Paperback (April 2001)

Under cover of night, Honeybath is taken to a house and asked to stay while he completes a portrait; but when he returns to his studio, he discovers that the bank next door has been robbed and that he is under suspicion!

Silence Observed by Michael Innes Silence Observed, Paperback (April 2001)

Respected Fine Art experts are deceived in one of the most intriguing murder cases Inspector Appleby has ever faced, beginning with Gribble, a collector of forgeries whose latest acquisition is found to be a forged forgery!

Hare Sitting Up by Michael Innes Hare Sitting Up, Paperback (April 2001)

When a germ-warfare expert goes missing, his twin brother impersonates him as a cover-up, but for how long can this last? Inspector Appleby is sent on a series of wild goose chases, which take him to a preparatory school, to the estate of an eccentric earl, and to a remote Atlantic rock, before a truly shocking climax.

» View all books by Michael Innes


US Kirkus Review » This welcome appearance by Innes' Sir John Appleby - by rough count his 30th outing since arriving on the scene in 1936 - is rather morbidly offered as "what may prove to be Appleby's final performance." Though now 80, however, Innes - the grand old don of British mystery fiction - seems in fine fettle here, with enough dry wit and relaxed erudition to compensate for a slender, ho-hum plot. Lord Osprey of Clusters (a vast country manse on a bit of island surrounded by muddy water) has been found dead in his library, stabbed in the throat. So retired super-cop Appleby, a neighbor and acquaintance, reluctantly agrees to help in the sleuthing. . .and tidies things up in about 24 hours. At first the likely culprit would seem to be the local tavernkeeper, whose nubile daughter was allegedly ravished by dirty old Lord O. But Appleby focuses instead on Lord O.'s famous coin collection, which is hidden somewhere in the house. And, besides the inevitable butler, the suspects (down for a weekend house-party, of course) include Lord O.'s sullen son, his flaky brother-in-law (a coin scholar), and two ladies with their own numismatic obsessions. The puzzle is paper-thin, nearly transparent; there's virtually no action (aside from a Hitchcockian last-page demise for the killer). But devotees of refined English mystery-comedy will find this a tasty little morsel - with suave repartee (though Appleby's straight-faced use of the "nigger in the woodpile" expression should have been edited out), gently chortling narration, and a country house whose odd features include a bona fide "trompe-l'oeil trompe-l'oeil." (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Appleby and the Ospreys book by Michael Innes and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Michael Innes

Born in Edinburgh in 1906, the son of the city's Director of Education, John Innes Mackintosh Stewart wrote a highly successful series of mystery stories under the pseudonym Michael Innes. Innes was educated at Oriel College, Oxford, where he was presented with the Matthew Arnold Memorial Prize and named a Bishop Frazer's scholar. After graduation, he went to Vienna to study Freudian psychoanalysis for a year and following his first book, an edition of Florio's translation of 'Montaigne', was offered a lectureship at the University of Leeds. In 1932 he married Margaret Hardwick, a doctor, and they subsequently had five children including Angus, also a novelist. The year 1936 saw Innes as Professor of English at the University of Adelaide, during which tenure he wrote his first mystery story, 'Death at the President's Lodging'. With his second, 'Hamlet Revenge', Innes firmly established his reputation as a highly entertaining and cultivated writer. After the end of World War II, he returned to the UK and spent two years at Queen's University, Belfast, where in 1949 he wrote the 'Journeying Boy', a novel notable for the richly comedic use of an Irish setting. He then settled down as a Reader in English Literature at Christ Church, Oxford, from which he retired in 1973. Innes's most famous character is 'John Appleby', who inspired a penchant for donnish detective fiction that lasts to this day. His other well-known character is 'Honeybath', the painter and rather reluctant detective, who first appeared in 1975 in 'The Mysterious Commission'. The last of the Innes novels, 'Appleby and the Ospreys', was published in 1986, some eight years before his death in 1994. His work is still very highly regarded and 'Appleby's End' and 'The New Sonia Wayward' were chosen by H.R.F. Keating as being amongst the best 100 crime novels ever written. The 'Times Literary Supplement' said of him: 'A Master - he constructs a plot that twists and turns like an electric eel: it gives you shock upon shock and you cannot let go.'

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Michael Innes close
What Happened at Hazelwood by Michael Innes
Mysterious Commission by Michael Innes
Silence Observed by Michael Innes
Hare Sitting Up by Michael Innes
Going it Alone by Michael Innes
Sheiks and Adders by Michael Innes
Family Affair by Michael Innes
Appleby File by Michael Innes
Appleby on Ararat by Michael Innes
Change of Heir by Michael Innes
Journeying Boy by Michael Innes
Man from the Sea by Michael Innes
Lord Mullion's Secret by Michael Innes
Awkward Lie by Michael Innes
» close