At the Edge of West by Mark Arax
Look inside with Google Book Preview
At the Edge of West
By Mark Arax

At the Edge of West

Dispatches from a Native Son

By (author) See other recent books by Mark Arax
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $44.99
Your Price: $40.49 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.02 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



At the Edge of West by Mark Arax

Book Description

Teddy Roosevelt once exclaimed, When I am in California, I am not in the West. I am west of the West, and in this book, Mark Arax spends four years travelling up and down the Golden State to explore its singular place in the world. This is California beyond the clichs. This is California as only a native son, deep in the dust, could draw it. Compelling, lyrical, and ominous, his new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape. The Summer of the Death of Hilario Guzman has been praised as a stunningly intimate portrait of one immigrant family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests. Down the road in the Home Front, right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror, and a conflicted father loses not one but two sons in Iraq. The Last Okie in Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant. The Highlands of Humboldt is a journey to marijuana growing capital of the U. S. , where the old hippies are battling the new hippies over pollution pot and the local bank collects a mountain of cash each day, much of it redolent of cannabis. Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire in The Legend of Zankou, a story included in the Best American Crime Reporting 2009. And, in the end, he provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father, a crime in the California heartland finally solved after thirty years. In the finest tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. Piece by piece, the stories become a whole, a stunning panorama of California, and America, in a new century.

Buy At the Edge of West book by Mark Arax from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781586483906
ISBN-10: 1586483900
Format: Hardback
(236mm x 156mm x 33mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: PublicAffairs,U.S.
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 31-May-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author Mark Arax

West of the West by Mark Arax West of the West, Paperback (March 2011)

In the tradition of Didion, Stegner, and McPhee, an intimate portrait of California in flux by the best-selling author of "The King of California"

King of California by Mark Arax King of California, Paperback (January 2005)

A rich, colorful history of California centering on the untold story of America's biggest farmer, J.G. Boswell, who controls more than $1 billion worth of water rights and real estate in the heart of the state

In My Father's Name by Mark Arax In My Father's Name, Paperback (August 1997)

A Los Angeles Times reporter recounts his twenty-two-year search for the truth behind his father's murder, an event that devastated his childhood and eventually revealed startling truths.

» View all books by Mark Arax

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » A lucid, warts-and-all portrait of California by a native son.Arax (Nonfiction Writing/Claremont McKenna Coll.; The King of California: J.G. Boswell and the Making of a Secret American Empire, 2003, etc.) embarks on a sometimes ominous tour that, he warns, is on a "road trenched by 9/11 and the War on Terror and the anomie of the digital age and the greatest financial collapse since the Great Depression." He finds stories to tell about all those things, beginning with his grandfather, who was "a migrant fruit picker, a farmer, a grocer, a communist, a capitalist, an atheist, a believer - in other words, a consummate Californian." Arax is less admiring of another agriculturist, the classicist and neoconservative Victor Davis Hanson, "a raisin farmer whose family had worked the same piece of dirt since 1872 [and who] had become the hawk of the month for the Bush administration." Another character whom Arax mentions in passing drove his tractor into the Pacific Ocean by way of protesting tax policies - and who had five wives, white, black and Latina. The author explores the Okie migration and its latter-day reflection in the influx of fieldworkers from Mexico, such as one Oaxacan who worked hard for nine years and had accumulated a couple of beat-up vehicles to park "in the dirt path that led from the vineyard to the three-room shack that cost him $400 a month to rent." That shack is within sight of gleaming palaces, to say nothing of INS databases - yet more parts of the California story.In the library of Californiana, worthy of a place alongside the works of Bill Barich, Carey McWilliams and even Joan Didion. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about At the Edge of West book by Mark Arax and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Mark Arax

Award-winning author and journalist Mark Arax is a co-author of "The King of California" and author of "In My Father's Name." He is a contributing writer at "Los Angeles" magazine and a former senior writer at the "Los Angeles Times." He teaches nonfiction writing at Claremont McKenna College and lives in Fresno.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Mark Arax close
West of the West by Mark Arax
King of California by Mark Arax
In My Father's Name by Mark Arax
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close