Baker Towers by Jennifer Haigh
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Baker Towers
By Jennifer Haigh

Baker Towers

By (author) See other recent books by Jennifer Haigh
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $22.95
Your Price: $20.66 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.29! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.03 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply, Not for Xmas



Baker Towers by Jennifer Haigh

Book Description

Jennifer Haigh's second novel is an intimate portrait of love and family, which will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields. Stanley Novak is a first-generation Polish immigrant. Seeking a better life, he settles in Bakerton and finds work in the booming local mine. He meets and marries Rose, a shy, beautiful Italian girl. They move to a mine-owned house in an area of town known as Polish Hill, teeming with immigrants from all over Europe, all chasing the American Dream. Five children follow for the Novaks. The Novak children belong to what will someday be known as the Greatest Generation, but for now, they are just trying to find their identities in a vastly changing world. The five children could not be more different. The eldest, George, avoids signing up but is drafted to the Pacific when America joins the war. He comes home determined to leave Bakerton behind, but finds it much more difficult the second time around. Dorothy is a fragile and naive girl, who finds it hard to cope with her desk job in Washington. Joyce, fiercely intelligent, must hold the family together and remains bitterly aware of the life that she could have had. Sandy, the youngest boy, swans through life with his movie-star looks, never taking responsibility for his actions. And Lucy, the youngest, must find her own path in the shadow of her formidable siblings. Haigh gives us a beautiful snapshot of a small town - of company houses and union squabbles; the boom and bust of the post-war years; the immigrant neighbourhoods of Swedetown, Little Italy and Polish Hill; the miners, undertakers, soldiers, firemen and housewives who populate the town and bring it to life.

Buy Baker Towers book by Jennifer Haigh from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780007150878
ISBN-10: 0007150873
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 4-Apr-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Jennifer Haigh

Faith by Jennifer Haigh Faith, Paperback / softback (January 2012)

One woman's search for the truth after scandal rocks her family, and the explosive secrets she uncovers, force her to confront cataclysmic truths in this complex, moving fourth novel from a bestselling and award-winning author.

Condition by Jennifer Haigh Condition, Paperback / softback (June 2009)

The long-awaited third novel from the bestselling, award-winning author of "Mrs. Kimble" and "Baker Towers" explores the immutable bonds of family witnessed through one turbulent year in the lives of the McKotches.

» View all books by Jennifer Haigh

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Baker Towers book by Jennifer Haigh and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Jennifer Haigh

Jennifer Haigh is the author of the critically acclaimed Mrs Kimble, for which she won the Pen/Hemingway Award. She grew up in a small town in Pennsylvania and now lives in Hull, Massachusetts.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Jennifer Haigh close
Heat and Light by Jennifer Haigh
Heat and Light by Jennifer Haigh
News from Heaven by Jennifer Haigh
News from Heaven by Jennifer Haigh
News from Heaven by Jennifer Haigh
Faith by Jennifer Haigh
Faith by Jennifer Haigh
Faith by Jennifer Haigh
Condition by Jennifer Haigh
Condition by Jennifer Haigh
Mrs. Kimble by Jennifer Haigh
Mrs Kimble by Jennifer Haigh
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close