Believing is Seeing by Mary Anne Staniszewski
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Believing is Seeing
By Mary Anne Staniszewski

Believing is Seeing

Creating the Culture of Art

By (author) See other recent books by Mary Anne Staniszewski
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $35.91
Your Price: $32.31 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.59! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.62 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



Believing is Seeing by Mary Anne Staniszewski

Book Description

This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth.

Buy Believing is Seeing book by Mary Anne Staniszewski from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780140168242
ISBN-10: 0140168249
Format: Paperback
(209mm x 145mm x 17mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 30-Mar-1995
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Mary Anne Staniszewski

Muntadas by Mary Anne Staniszewski Muntadas, Paperback (October 2002)

This exhibition catalogue reinterprets projects by Muntadas pertaining to the series known generically as "On Translation" begun in 1995. The book documents the works and installations that make up the series, in which Muntadas addresses the concept of translation in contemporary society.

» View all books by Mary Anne Staniszewski

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » Why are the Palacolithic Venus of Wittendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered to be works of art? Is a Cindy Sherman photograph as much 'art' as a portrait by Leonardo da Vinci? Who decides what art is? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this book - which is at once learned and somewhat subversive - presents a new way of assessing our artistic heritage. It seeks to bridge the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high art and popular culture, and probes beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories. Drawing on the widest possible range of illustrative material the book throws new light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued. A most stimulating work, it contrives to involve the reader directly and provocatively in the debate which it undertakes. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Believing is Seeing book by Mary Anne Staniszewski and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Mary Anne Staniszewski close
Exit Art by Mary Anne Staniszewski
Alternative Histories by Mary Anne Staniszewski
Muntadas by Mary Anne Staniszewski
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close