Birthstones by Phyllis Gotlieb
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Phyllis Gotlieb


By (author) See other recent books by Phyllis Gotlieb
Format: Paperback / softback

Normal Price: $32.59
Your Price: $27.38 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.21! (16% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.37 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Birthstones by Phyllis Gotlieb

Book Description

On a dark and moonless planet, mutations have left women as little more than wombs, while men can teleport but have limited control over the ability. When aliens come to plunder this world's resources, the already harsh environment degrades exponentially. Will the Galactic Federation find this world in time to help the natives restore their women and save their civilization?A visionary novel in the tradition of Ursula K. LeGuin and James Tiptree, Jr., by a leading feminist author.With an afterword by Nalo Hopkinson."Phyllis Gotlieb is the grand dame of Canadian SF, a poet with a cosmic perspective who elevates space opera to high art." -- "Robert J. Sawyer""The best SF novel I've read in years." -- "The Globe and Mail" on "Flesh and Gold""A new novel from Phyllis Gotlieb is a major event." -- "Candas Jane Dorsey ""Gotlieb knows how to do it right." -- "Analog Science Fiction and Fact"

Buy Birthstones book by Phyllis Gotlieb from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780889953857
ISBN-10: 0889953856
Format: Paperback / softback
(213mm x 145mm x 12mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Robert J Sawyer Books
Publisher: Robert J Sawyer Books
Publish Date: 23-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Phyllis Gotlieb


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Birthstones book by Phyllis Gotlieb and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Phyllis Gotlieb

Phyllis Gotlieb has been nominated for the Governor General's Award as well as the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America's Nebula Award, and she's the recipient of a lifetime-achievement Aurora Award. Her previous novels include Sunburst, O Master Caliban!, Heart of Red Iron, and Mindworlds. Phyllis is now professor emeritus of Computer Science at University of Toronto. She has three grown children, four grandchildren and lives in Toronto.Afterword by Nalo Hopkinson. Nalo's novel Brown Girl in the Ring won the Warner Aspect First Novel Contest. She has taken second place in the Short Prose Competition of the Writers' Union of Canada, and is the recipient of the Ontario Arts Council Foundation Award for Emerging Writers, the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and the Locus Award for a first novel.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Phyllis Gotlieb close
Birthstones by Phyllis Gotlieb
Blue Apes by Phyllis Gotlieb
Sunburst by Phyllis Gotlieb
» close