Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Boy Who Loved Books
By John Sutherland

The Boy Who Loved Books

A Memoir

By (author) See other recent books by John Sutherland
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $27.99
Your Price: $25.19 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.26 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply, Not for Xmas



Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland

Book Description

A memoir in the tradition of Lorna Sage's Bad Blood and Blake Morrison's When Did You Last See your Father? John Sutherland's childhood ended abruptly the day his father was killed at the beginning of World War Two - happily before he could kill any Germans. John's widowed mother fell in love with a new man and decamped to Argentina, leaving John to be looked after by various relatives - some more suited to raising children than others. It was an odd, unsettled childhood and John took refuge in books. He quickly learned how to fit in without disturbing people, and, in doing so, began to store up resentments as a child. These resentments, with the trigger of alcohol in later life, would one day explode - serially and for many years. The Boy Who Loved Books is an account of a disrupted childhood, but it is also an account of one man's often desperate love affair with reading matter. Books in many ways changed his life, propelling him to university, and sustaining him in the dark times that were to come. It is also a record of the shifting twentieth century and the profound changes that shook society and its ways of dealing with children in the institutions of family, school and university.

Buy Boy Who Loved Books book by John Sutherland from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780719564321
ISBN-10: 0719564328
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 127mm x 17mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: John Murray Publishers Ltd
Publisher: John Murray General Publishing Division
Publish Date: 28-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author John Sutherland

War on the Old by John Sutherland War on the Old, Hardback (November 2016)

John Sutherland examines the intergenerational conflict as a new kind of 'war' in which institutional neglect and universal indifference to the old has reached aggressive, and routinely lethal, levels.

Brontesaurus by John Sutherland Brontesaurus, Hardback (November 2016)

In the year of Charlotte's bicentenary, a light-hearted miscellany on all things Bronte.

Incomplete Shakespeare: Much Ado About Nothing by John Sutherland Incomplete Shakespeare: Much Ado About Nothing, Hardback (October 2016)

Benedick: I am man enough to say that I love thee. Is that not strange? Beatrice: Not really... Benedick: By my sword, Beatrice thou lovest me. Beatrice: Get over yourself. To celebrate the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death, this is the third of a new collection of the Bard's greatest plays, digested to a few thousand words.

Incomplete Shakespeare: Hamlet by John Sutherland Incomplete Shakespeare: Hamlet, Hardback (October 2016)

To celebrate the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death, this is the fourth collection of the Bard's greatest plays, digested to a few thousand words along with side notes.

» View all books by John Sutherland

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Boy Who Loved Books book by John Sutherland and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - John Sutherland

John Sutherland is Emeritus Lord Northcliffe Professor at University College London. He is the author of twenty-two books, including Stephen Spender: The Authorized Biography. He writes regular columns for the Guardian, Financial Times and New Statesman.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by John Sutherland close
War on the Old by John Sutherland
Brontesaurus by John Sutherland
Incomplete Shakespeare: Much Ado About Nothing by John Sutherland
Incomplete Shakespeare: Hamlet by John Sutherland
Orwell's Nose by John Sutherland
Incomplete Shakespeare: Romeo & Juliet by John Sutherland
Incomplete Shakespeare: Macbeth by John Sutherland
How Good is Your Grammar? by John Sutherland
Talented Mr Ripley by John Sutherland
Last Drink to LA by John Sutherland
Jumbo by John Sutherland
Little History of Literature by John Sutherland
Jumbo by John Sutherland
How to be Well Read by John Sutherland
Jumbo by John Sutherland
Lives of the Novelists by John Sutherland
Connell Guide to Jane Austen's Emma by John Sutherland
Purple Cloud by John Sutherland
New Selected Journals, 1939-1995 by John Sutherland
Connell Guide to Charles Dickens's
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close