Bridie's Fire by Kirsty Murray
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Bridie's Fire
By Kirsty Murray

Bridie's Fire

By (author) See other recent books by Kirsty Murray
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $15.95
Your Price: $14.36 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.59! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.72 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days

Bridie's Fire by Kirsty Murray

Book Awards

  • Winner of Children's Book Council of Australia Awards: Notable Book 2004.
  • Shortlisted for NSW Premier's History Award: Young People's History Prize 2004.

Book Description

Bridie's world is torn apart when her parents and baby brother die in the Great Hunger. She leaves Ireland, and strikes out alone to claim a life for herself in Australia, on the other side of the ocean...Bridie's Fire is heart-warming story of courage and resilience. It affirms Kirsty Murray's keen understanding of the human spirit. Starting in the 1840s and ending in present-day Australia. The Children of the Wind quartet tells the stories of four courageous young people, Bridie, Billy, Colm and Maeve, born fifty years apart. The central character from each book becomes a mentor to the child in the next...A well crafted and finely tuned historical novel.a rollicking adventure. - ..Children's Book Council, Notable Books 2004..I loved it! Really, I couldn't put it down. It's such an inspiration favourite book in the world. - Georgia, Year 8

Buy Bridie's Fire book by Kirsty Murray from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781865087276
ISBN-10: 1865087270
Format: Paperback
(195mm x 130mm x 20mm)
Pages: 264
Imprint: Allen & Unwin Children's Books
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2003
Country of Publication: Australia

Customers who bought this also bought...

Books By Author Kirsty Murray

Eat the Sky, Drink the Ocean by Kirsty Murray Eat the Sky, Drink the Ocean, Paperback (January 2015)

A collection of sci-fi and fantasy writing, including six graphic stories, showcasing twenty stellar writers and artists from India and Australia: Isobelle Carmody, Kate Constable, Penni Russon, Margo Lanagan, Mandy Ord, to mention only a few.

Year it All Ended by Kirsty Murray Year it All Ended, Paperback (August 2014)

On Armistice Day 1918 Tiney Flynn turns seventeen and it feels as though her life is just beginning. Her brother and his friends are coming home from the Great War and her sisters are falling in love. But Tiney and her family find that building peace is far more complicated than they could ever have imagined.

To the Wild Sky by Kirsty Murray To the Wild Sky, Paperback (April 2014)

When their pilot dies mid-flight his six teenaged passengers face a terrifying reality, with only each other to rely on.

Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie by Kirsty Murray Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie, Paperback (August 2013)

A gripping time-slip adventure set in a hidden valley. 11-year-old Lucy travels across the river of time to fight fires, battle floodwaters and discover the meaning of true friendship.

» View all books by Kirsty Murray


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bridie's Fire book by Kirsty Murray and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Kirsty Murray

Kirsty Murray is the author of three popular junior novels - Zarconi's Magic Flying Fish (winner of the WA Premier's Children's Book Award, 2001), Market Blues and Walking Home with Marie Claire - and several non-fiction books for children. She has worked as a forest ranger, archivist, artist and teacher, and now is a full-time writer.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Kirsty Murray close
Eat the Sky, Drink the Ocean by Kirsty Murray
Year it All Ended by Kirsty Murray
To the Wild Sky by Kirsty Murray
Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie by Kirsty Murray
Clever Cat Book Club by Kirsty Murray
Topsy Turvy World by Kirsty Murray
India Dark by Kirsty Murray
India Dark by Kirsty Murray
Vulture's Gate by Kirsty Murray
Penny to Remember by Kirsty Murray
Secret Life of Maeve Lee Kwong by Kirsty Murray
Zarconi's Magic Flying Fish by Kirsty Murray
Prayer for Blue Delaney by Kirsty Murray
Becoming Billy Dare by Kirsty Murray
Walking Home with Marie-Claire by Kirsty Murray
Market Blues by Kirsty Murray
Tough Stuff by Kirsty Murray
» close