Bush Nurses by Annabelle Brayley
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Bush Nurses
By Annabelle Brayley

Bush Nurses

Inspiring True Stories of Nursing Bravery and Ingenuity in Rural and Remote Australia

Edited by See other recent books by Annabelle Brayley
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...



Bush Nurses by Annabelle Brayley

Book Description

It takes something special to be a bush nurse working in rural and remote Australia. They patch people up and keep them alive while waiting for the doctor to arrive, they drive the ambulances, operate the clinics and deliver the babies. They are on call around the clock and there are no days off. All this with no back-up and while working in some of the most isolated places on the planet. To get the job done, bush nurses often have to make do with whatever is at hand (think, transporting patients via wheelbarrows, stemming bleeding with their bare hands, etc.), but their trademark passion, resourcefulness and sense of humour see them through the tough times. Some of these stories will raise the hairs on the back of your neck, others will make you laugh and some will make you cry. But there's no doubt you'll be amazed at the strength of character and the skill of these nurses who are the backbone of medical practice in rural and remote Australia.

Buy Bush Nurses book by Annabelle Brayley from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781921901393
ISBN-10: 192190139X
Classification: True stories of heroism, endurance & survival
Format: Paperback (230mm x 152mm x mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Michael Joseph
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
Publish Date: 20-Mar-2013
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Last Man Off by Matt Lewis Last Man Off by Matt Lewis

The waters of Antarctica, June 6th 1998. 23-year-old Matt Lewis has just started his dream job. An observer aboard a deep sea fishing boat, he is mesmerized by his new surroundings. A storm is brewing. With the captain missing, and the crew forced to abandon ship, Lewis leads the escape onto three life rafts, where the battle for survival begins.

Miracle of the Kent by Nicholas Tracy Miracle of the Kent by Nicholas Tracy

An Extraordinary Rescue That Was Used as Proof of Divine Intervention and the Power of Prayer- The book reconstructs this extraordinary tale revealing how those aboard the Kent faced their deaths, and their reactions to being offered a second chance.

Sister's Secret by Debbie Grafham Sister's Secret by Debbie Grafham

The author's childhood had been far from normal, but when she was just nine years old her life changed forever. He discovered that her neighbour was abusing her younger sister, Laraine - and there was a price to pay to make him stop. This book tells his story.

True American by Anand Giridharadas True American by Anand Giridharadas

In the vein of Zeitoun and Behind the Beautiful Forevers, a tour de force of narrative reportage. Anand Giridharadas's deeply moving new work of narrative nonfiction tells the story of Raisuddin Bhuiyan, a former Bangladeshi Air Force officer who comes to America with a dream of starting a new life.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Annabelle Brayley

Nurses of the Outback by Annabelle Brayley Nurses of the Outback, Paperback (March 2014)

The work of a nurse is challenging enough, but when you add a remote location, the stakes are so much higher. Meet fifteen courageous people who have chosen to pursue careers in remote area nursing.

Bush Nurses by Annabelle Brayley Bush Nurses, Paperback (February 2014)

It takes something special to be a bush nurse working in rural and remote Australia. These remarkable women patch people up and keep them alive while waiting for the doctor to arrive. They drive the ambulances, operate the clinics and deliver the babies. They are on call around the clock and there are no days off.

» View all books by Annabelle Brayley

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bush Nurses book by Annabelle Brayley and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Annabelle Brayley close
Nurses of the Outback by Annabelle Brayley
Bush Nurses by Annabelle Brayley
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close