Casebook of Victor Frankenstein by Peter Ackroyd
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Casebook of Victor Frankenstein
By Peter Ackroyd

The Casebook of Victor Frankenstein

By (author) See other recent books by Peter Ackroyd
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...




Casebook of Victor Frankenstein by Peter Ackroyd

Book Description

Victor Frankenstein begins his anatomy experiments in a barn in the secluded village of Headington, near Oxford. The coroner's office provides the corpses he needs - but they have often died by violent means and are damaged and putrifying. Victor moves his coils and jars and electrical fluids to a deserted pottery manufactury in Limehouse. And, from Limehouse, makes contact with the Doomesday Men - the resurrectionists. Victor pays better than any hospital for the bodies of the very recently dead. Even so, perfect specimens are hard to come by...until that Thames-side dawn when Victor, waiting, wrapped in his greatcoat, on his wooden jetty, hears the splashing of oars and sees in the half-light that slung into the stern of the approaching boat is the corpse of a handsome young man, one hand trailing in the water...

Buy Casebook of Victor Frankenstein book by Peter Ackroyd from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780099524137
ISBN-10: 0099524139
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (198mm x 129mm x 26mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage
Publish Date: 2-Apr-2009
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


You might also like...

This One is Mine by Maria Semple This One is Mine by Maria Semple

The sparkling debut novel of Maria Semple, author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE?

Jet by Jay Crownover Jet by Jay Crownover

The second book in the Marked Men series from Jay Crownover - it's what's on the inside that counts...

Girl Who Couldn't Read by John Harding Girl Who Couldn't Read by John Harding

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

Crime at Black Dudley by Margery Allingham Crime at Black Dudley by Margery Allingham

Dr George Abbershaw and his friend Wyatt Petrie arrive at the remote and forbidding mansion of Black Dudley for a weekend visit - one of several hosted every year by Wyatt's invalid uncle, Colonel Coombe. No sooner have the guests assembled than talk turns to the sinister Black Dudley Dagger and the ritual that accompanies this ancient relic.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Peter Ackroyd

Charlie Chaplin by Peter Ackroyd Charlie Chaplin, Hardback (April 2014)

A biography that turns the spotlight on Charlie Chaplin's life as well as his work, from his humble theatrical beginnings in music halls to winning an honorary Academy Award. It covers topics ranging from the glamour of his golden age to the murky scandals of the 1940s and eventual exile to Switzerland.

Three Brothers by Peter Ackroyd Three Brothers, Hardback (March 2014)

"Originally published in Great Britain by Chatto & Windus, an imprint of the Random House Group Limited, London, in 2013"--Title page verso.

Tudors by Peter Ackroyd Tudors, Hardback (October 2013)

First published in Great Britain by Macmillan as a set, complete in 6 volumes, under the common title: The history of England; Tudors is volume 2 in that series.

Foundation by Peter Ackroyd Foundation, Paperback / softback (September 2013)

A massive bestseller in England, this title by one of Britain's most popular and esteemed historians tells the epic story of the birth of the country in the first in an extraordinary six-volume history.

» View all books by Peter Ackroyd

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Casebook of Victor Frankenstein book by Peter Ackroyd and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Book Review: Casebook of Victor Frankenstein by Peter Ackroyd - Reviewed by (11 Jan 2010)

So, Victor Frankenstein had now given us another account of his life and it is rather different to the version he gave to Robert Walton in Mary Shelley's book. Which are we to believe?

That may seem a strange question to ask, since up to now it has always been believed that Mary Shelley, at the age of nineteen, invented Victor Frankenstein as a character in the horror story she concocted one dark and stormy night in a villa on the shores of Lake Geneva. The poet, Percy Bysse Shelley (Mary's husband to be) was there, so too were Alfred, Lord Byron, his physician Dr Polidori, and Mary's step-sister, Claire Claremont. Two of the stories told that night eventually became books: Mary's Frankenstein and Polidori's The Vampire.

Peter Ackroyd, however, seems to have come across an autobiography written by Victor Frankenstein in which he tells us how he met and befriended Percy Bysse Shelley and, so, came to meet Mary, Byron and Polidori. So,...

read more

» Read all 1 book reviews for Casebook of Victor Frankenstein by Peter Ackroyd


Author Biography - Peter Ackroyd

Peter Ackroyd is the author of biographies of Ezra Pound, T.S. Eliot, Dickens, Blake, Wilkie Collins and Thomas More and of the acclaimed non-fiction bestsellers London: The Biography and Thames: Sacred River. Peter Ackroyd is an award-winning novelist, as well as a broadcaster, biographer, poet and historian. He has won the Whitbread Biography Award, the Royal Society of Literature's William Heinemann Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Guardian Fiction Prize, the Somerset Maugham Award and the South Bank Prize for Literature. He holds a CBE for services to literature.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Peter Ackroyd close
Charlie Chaplin by Peter Ackroyd
Three Brothers by Peter Ackroyd
Tudors by Peter Ackroyd
Three Brothers by Peter Ackroyd
Foundation by Peter Ackroyd
Tudors by Peter Ackroyd
Hawksmoor by Peter Ackroyd
Wilkie Collins by Peter Ackroyd
London Under by Peter Ackroyd
Death of King Arthur by Peter Ackroyd
Tudors by Peter Ackroyd
London by Peter Ackroyd
Foundation by Peter Ackroyd
Venice by Peter Ackroyd
Preachers, Pastors, and Ambassadors by Peter Ackroyd
Q&A Dickens by Peter Ackroyd
Venice by Peter Ackroyd
Casebook of Victor Frankenstein by Peter Ackroyd
Venice by Peter Ackroyd
Poe by Peter Ackroyd
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close