Chaos by James Gleick
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Chaos
By James Gleick

Chaos

Making a New Science 20th

By (author) See other recent books by James Gleick
Format: Paperback / softback

Normal Price: $41.89
Your Price: $37.70 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.19! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.89 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



Chaos by James Gleick

Book Description

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick the author of Time Travel: A History that reveals the science behind chaos theory A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos , Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe."

Buy Chaos book by James Gleick from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780143113454
ISBN-10: 0143113453
Format: Paperback / softback
(216mm x 140mm x 30mm)
Imprint: Penguin USA
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author James Gleick

Time Travel by James Gleick Time Travel, Hardback (February 2017)

From the acclaimed author of The Information and Chaos, a mind-bending exploration of time travel: its subversive origins, its evolution in literature and science, and its influence on our understanding of time itself.

Information by James Gleick Information, Paperback (March 2012)

Winner of the Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books 2012, the world's leading prize for popular science writing.

Isaac Newton by James Gleick Isaac Newton, Paperback (June 2004)

From one of the best writers on science, a remarkable portrait of Isaac Newton. The man who changed our understanding of the universe, of science, and of faith.

Faster by James Gleick Faster, Paperback (June 2000)

* A book about our obsession with time and how we can cram as much as possible into the 1440 minutes of every day.

» View all books by James Gleick

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Chaos book by James Gleick and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - James Gleick

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award, andTime Travel: A History.He lives inKey West and New York."

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by James Gleick close
Time Travel by James Gleick
Time Travel by James Gleick
Time Travel by James Gleick
Information by James Gleick
Isaac Newton by James Gleick
Faster by James Gleick
Chaos by James Gleick
Genius by James Gleick
Genius by James Gleick
Information by James Gleick
Information by James Gleick
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close