Child of Her Time by Maggie Bennett
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Child of Her Time
By Maggie Bennett

A Child of Her Time

By (author) See other recent books by Maggie Bennett
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $27.99
Your Price: $25.19 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.26 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Child of Her Time by Maggie Bennett

Book Description

Set in the aftermath of the Great War, "A Child of Her Time" is a story of prejudice, passion and one woman's struggle to fight for what she really wants in life - against all odds. At twenty-five, teacher Phyllis Bird is still living with her parents in a quiet Hampshire village. With so many young men lost in the Great War, including her own brothers, her life is empty and her future without hope. Until, desperate to break out of her mundane existence, she decides to take up the position of nursery maid in the London home of acclaimed playwright Harold Berridge. Befriended by the actress Maud Ling and thrown into the glamorous but fickle world of the cinema, Phyllis falls passionately in love with Maud's younger brother Teddy. But Teddy's heart lies elsewhere, and when tragedy strikes the Berridge household a heartbroken Phyllis is forced to leave. Six months later, Phyllis has started to rebuild her life but her world is turned upside down once more when she is invited to a party at Maud Ling's film studios. For there she falls under the spell of the charming but devious American actor Denver Towers, with disastrous consequences...

Buy Child of Her Time book by Maggie Bennett from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099453154
ISBN-10: 0099453150
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 110mm x 28mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 16-Sep-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Maggie Bennett

Country Doctor's Choice by Maggie Bennett Country Doctor's Choice, Paperback (March 2015)

Set in the market town of Everham in Hampshire, from late autumn of 1962 to summer 1963, four interweaving stories overlap as time progresses. Tensions between the characters give rise to open conflicts which erupt in scandals that echo the Profumo affair which has shocked the nation.

Family's Duty by Maggie Bennett Family's Duty, Paperback (November 2013)

1938. Britain and Germany are on the brink of war, and the tension and fear is felt throughout Europe. In the small Hampshire Village of North Camp, the lives of Tom Munday, his family and friends will be changed forever.

Carpenter's Children by Maggie Bennett Carpenter's Children, Paperback (March 2010)

Tom Munday, a skilled carpenter, has been blessed with a fine wife and three wonderful children. But when the first world war breaks out, his firstborn, Ernest, is called upon to join the army. Tom's 18-year-old daughter Isabel finds the path of true love does not run smoothly in London's poor East End.

Carriage for the Midwife by Maggie Bennett Carriage for the Midwife, Paperback (September 2003)

Born into the squalor of the notorious Ash-Pits, young Susan is determined to raise herself above the poverty of her childhood. Discovering she has a natural talent for nursing, she forges a new life for herself - and as an independent, unmarried midwife, she is a woman far ahead of her time. Can Susan escape the dark shadows of her childhood?

» View all books by Maggie Bennett


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Child of Her Time book by Maggie Bennett and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Maggie Bennett

Maggie Bennett was born in Hampshire. She left school at eighteen and started general nursing training and, after a year as a staff nurse, she went on to train as a midwife. She married at thirty-five, and moved to Manchester where her two daughters were born; she later returned to work as a midwife until her retirement in 1991. She took a correspondence course in creative writing after her husband's death in 1983, and started writing articles and short stories. Her first novel, A Child's Voice Calling, was published in 2002, followed by A Child at the Door and A Carriage for the Midwife in 2003.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Maggie Bennett close
Country Doctor's Choice by Maggie Bennett
Country Doctor's Choice by Maggie Bennett
Family's Duty by Maggie Bennett
Carpenter's Children by Maggie Bennett
Carriage for the Midwife by Maggie Bennett
Child's Voice Calling by Maggie Bennett
» close