Child of the Twilight by Carmel Bird
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Child of the Twilight
By Carmel Bird

Child of the Twilight

By (author) See other recent books by Carmel Bird
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $27.99
Your Price: $25.19 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.26 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to order, no due date



Child of the Twilight by Carmel Bird

Book Description

A luminous novel that both questions and celebrates the miraculous 'fresh and brilliant ...the sort of book that keeps on unfolding in the imagination, long after you've finished reading it.' Gabrielle Lord 'It is strange and fascinating to me to think of people - Avila in particular - praying me into existence.' Nineteen-year-old Sydney Peony Kent was a longed-for IVF baby. Her mother, Avila, not only used science to conceive, but also prayed to the Bambinello, a small bejewelled carving of the infant Jesus, housed in the church of Santa Maria in Aracoeli in Rome. Avila's distant relative Father Roland Bruccoli was conceived conventionally. His mother also prayed to the Bambinello before his birth - and that of his twin sister. One evening when the adult Roland is visits the church, the Bambinello is stolen. Roland hopes that Father Cosimo, archivist, poet and riddler, can help retrieve it. But when matters of belief are involved, nothing is straightforward, as Sydney discovers, too, when she is caught up in the search. Deftly weaving together religion, science, pregnancies wanted and unwanted, love, loss and belief, Carmel Bird has created a luminous novel that both questions and celebrates the miraculous. 'Given her due, Carmel Bird would be recognised as one of Australia's finest storytellers and connoisseurs of story' Peter Pierce, SYDNEY MORNING HERALD 'Bird's prose stylr delights in coincidences and conundrums, in the playful and dangerous blend of fact and fiction' Dorothy Johnston, CANBERRA TIMES

Buy Child of the Twilight book by Carmel Bird from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780732284541
ISBN-10: 0732284546
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (135mm x 211mm x 20mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Fourth Estate
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Jul-2009
Country of Publication: Australia

Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

Werewolf Cop - A Novel by Andrew Klavan Werewolf Cop - A Novel by Andrew Klavan

From Edgar Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Andrew Klavan, a supernatural thriller about a good cop in the grips of an evil curse. In the tradition of Dexter and The Shield, the first in a riveting trilogy about a crime-fighter on a quest to control the beast within.

Orient by Christopher Bollen Orient by Christopher Bollen

A literary thriller set in a tiny community on Long Island, shaken to the core by a series of murders.

I am Radar by Reif Larsen I am Radar by Reif Larsen

In 1975, a black child is mysteriously born to white parents. His name is Radar Radmanovic. Falling in with a secretive group of puppeteers and scientists, he is soon forced to confront the true nature of his identity.

Blood Relatives by Stevan Alcock Blood Relatives by Stevan Alcock

An incredible debut novel: a coming of age tale set against the backdrop of the Yorkshire Ripper murders, 'full of daring, authenticity and wit' (Rachel Cusk).

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Carmel Bird

Fabulous Finola Fox by Carmel Bird Fabulous Finola Fox, Hardback (April 2012)

Finola Fox loves to collect shoes. She finds them in strange places all over the city -- but the pair to one stunning feathered and bejewelled slipper continues to elude her. Then Finola meets handsome Frederic Fox, and they set off together on a hunt that uncovers a whole lot more than a missing shoe ...

Home Truth by Carmel Bird Home Truth, Paperback (July 2010)

In this collection of poignant and heartfelt essays, ten Australian writers take their own approach to the meaning of 'home'. Whether home for them is their country of origin, their town, their house or their relationships with others, almost all find that the concept of home sparks an examination of self and identity.

Writing the Story of Your Life by Carmel Bird Writing the Story of Your Life, Paperback (February 2007)

In Writing the Story of Your Life, Carmel Bird, author of the classic writing guide Dear Writer, brings you down-to-earth advice, inspirational quotations and suggestions and practical exercises. Clear and easy-to-use, it is an essential reference tool for anyone thinking about writing, or anyone who loves writing.

Essential Bird by Carmel Bird Essential Bird, Paperback (March 2005)

A collection bringing together the best of Carmel Bird's short stories - stories to beguile, bedazzle, disturb and amuse; stories that nudge reality's farthest borders.

» View all books by Carmel Bird

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Child of the Twilight book by Carmel Bird and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Book Review: Child of the Twilight by Carmel Bird - Reviewed by (10 Dec 2009)

For those who enjoy reading to indulge in the pleasure of beautiful writing then Carmel Bird’s latest novel might be just what you are after. Children of the Twilight is a deceptively complex work with great depth of both characterisation and theme. On one level the story is of love and loss, yet woven through this are the weighty themes of belief, fate and deception. Central to the story’s narrative is the theft of the religious icon named the Bambinello, stolen from a Rome monastery. Throughout the novel the concepts of birth and origin play an important part in the lives of the characters as they contend with their individual loss, search for identity or quest to unravel the mystery of the missing statue. As the story unfolds, readers are challenged by the notion of faith and led to question the ideas we live by as the story delves into the labyrinth of real and imagined beliefs. The writing is contemporary and engaging, yet manages...

read more

» Read all 1 book reviews for Child of the Twilight by Carmel Bird


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Carmel Bird close
Fabulous Finola Fox by Carmel Bird
Home Truth by Carmel Bird
Writing the Story of Your Life by Carmel Bird
Essential Bird by Carmel Bird
Cape Grimm by Carmel Bird
Open for Inspection by Carmel Bird
Unholy Writ by Carmel Bird
Bluebird Cafe by Carmel Bird
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close