Clothes on Their Backs by Linda Grant
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Clothes on Their Backs
By Linda Grant

The Clothes on Their Backs

By (author) See other recent books by Linda Grant
Format: Paperback / softback

Normal Price: $22.87
Your Price: $20.59 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.29! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.03 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days




Clothes on Their Backs by Linda Grant

Book Description

Orange Prize Winner and shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2008, Llinda Grant has created an enchanting portrait of a woman who, having endured unbearable loss, finds solace in the family secrets her estranged uncle reveals. Vivien Kovacs, sensitive and bookish, grows up sealed off from the world by her timid Hungarian refugee parents. She loses herself in books and reinvents herself according to her favorite characters, but it is through clothes that she ultimately defines herself. Against her father's wishes, she forges a relationship with her estranged uncle, a notorious criminal, who, in his old age, wants to share his life story. As he reveals the truth about her family's past, Vivien, having endured unbearable loss, learns how to be comfortable in her own skin and how to be alive in the world. Linda Grant is a spectacularly humanizing writer whose morally complex characters explore the line between selfishness and self-preservation. In vivid and supple prose, Grant has created a powerful story of family, love, and the hold the past has on the present.

Buy Clothes on Their Backs book by Linda Grant from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781439142363
ISBN-10: 143914236X
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback / softback (211mm x 137mm x 25mm)
Pages: 293
Imprint: Scribner Book Company
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Publish Date: 25-Nov-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

Last Words from Montmartre by Qiu Miaojin Last Words from Montmartre by Qiu Miaojin

Last Words from Montmartre is a novel in letters that narrates the gradual dissolution of a relationship between two lovers and, ultimately, the complete unraveling of the narrator.

This One is Mine by Maria Semple This One is Mine by Maria Semple

The sparkling debut novel of Maria Semple, author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE?

Licence of War by V. C. Letemendia Licence of War by V. C. Letemendia

1643: England is descending into a bloodier Civil War, and Beaumont, born a nobleman's heir but with a shadowy past as a mercenary turncoat and spy, has been hired against his will as agent to the King's new Secretary of State, the manipulative Lord Digby.

Girl Who Couldn't Read by John Harding Girl Who Couldn't Read by John Harding

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Linda Grant

Some Girls, Some Hats and Hitler by Linda Grant Some Girls, Some Hats and Hitler, Hardback (October 2012)

Originally published: Suffolk: N. Spearman, 1984.

We Had It So Good by Linda Grant We Had It So Good, Paperback / softback (April 2012)

From the acclaimed author of the Booker-shortlisted "The Clothes on Their Backs"--a hugely satisfying, exuberant, multi-generational novel about coming of age during the 1970s.

Remind Me Who I am, Again by Linda Grant Remind Me Who I am, Again, Paperback (January 2011)

'A skilful, moving, even humorous book. It is more than an elegy for a lost mother or the charting of one human being's decline ... It is an investigation of memory, which concludes that "Memory, I have come to understand, is everything, it's life itself"' Scotland on Sunday

Thoughtful Dresser by Linda Grant Thoughtful Dresser, Paperback / softback (April 2010)

"The Thoughtful Dresser" is a thinking woman's guide to her relationship with clothes, how to dress to look her best, and why it matters.

» View all books by Linda Grant

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Clothes on Their Backs book by Linda Grant and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Linda Grant close
Some Girls, Some Hats and Hitler by Linda Grant
We Had It So Good by Linda Grant
We Had it So Good by Linda Grant
Remind Me Who I am, Again by Linda Grant
Thoughtful Dresser by Linda Grant
In a German Pension by Linda Grant
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close