Composer Plays by David Pownall
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Composer Plays
By David Pownall

Composer Plays

Master Class/Elgar's Rondo/Elgar's Third/Music to Murder by

By (author) See other recent books by David Pownall
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $34.74
Your Price: $31.27 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.47! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.56 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Composer Plays by David Pownall

Book Description

"Includes the plays Master Class, Elgar's Rondo, Music to Murder By and Elgar's Third The creative artist in conflict with destructive external pressures and corrosive internal tensions is a recurring theme in David Pownall's meticulously crafted plays. Master Class was first performed at the Haymarket Theatre, Leicester before transferring to the Old Vic; Elgar's Rondo was performed by the RSC at Stratford-upon-Avon in 1993, and at the Barbican Centre. Elgar's Third, winner of the Sony Gold Award, was first performed on BBC Radio 3 in 1994; Music to Murder By was first performed by the Paines Plough theatre company."

Buy Composer Plays book by David Pownall from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781870259415
ISBN-10: 1870259416
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 130mm x 19mm)
Pages: 218
Imprint: Oberon Books Ltd
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Dec-1996
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author David Pownall

Writing Master Class by David Pownall Writing Master Class, Paperback (August 2013)

A biography of the well known play Master Class, as well as lessons in creative writing and how to get a play onto stage , this book fascinating insight into the playwright's craft.

Sound Theatre by David Pownall Sound Theatre, Hardback (February 2011)

An essenstial handbook that provides a great insight into writing for a unique and much cherished media.

Innocent Screams by David Pownall Innocent Screams, Paperback (March 2009)

Play by award winning dramatist who has published ten novels and a collection of short stories.

Lancaster Plays by David Pownall Lancaster Plays, Paperback (April 2006)

Features four plays - "Gaunt" and "Lile Jimmy Williamson" focus on the myth and reality of power surrounding two local legends; "Buck Ruxton" is an imperial tragedy of 1936; and "A Tale of Two Town Halls" is a political satire, a comedy cartoon on the IMF crisis in the mid-Seventies.

» View all books by David Pownall


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Composer Plays book by David Pownall and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - David Pownall

"David Pownall was born in Liverpool and he is a graduate of Keele University. He was dramatist in residence with the Century and Duke's Playhouse, Lancaster and co-founder of Paines Plough Theatre Company with John Adams. His internationally-performed plays include Music to Murder By, An Audience Called Edouard, Beef, Livingstone an Sechele and Master Class. Her most recent new play was Getting the Picture at The Lyric, Belfast. Theatre awards include the John Whiting Prize for Beef, the New York Theatre Yearbook, the LS Directors' Award for Livingstone and Sechele, and many others. He has published ten novels and a collection of short stories. "

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by David Pownall close
Writing Master Class by David Pownall
Sound Theatre by David Pownall
Innocent Screams by David Pownall
Lancaster Plays by David Pownall
Plays for One Person by David Pownall
Dream of Chief Crazy Horse by David Pownall
Pownall: Plays Two by David Pownall
» close