Decisions and Revisions by Isaac Levi
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Decisions and Revisions
By Isaac Levi

Decisions and Revisions

Philosophical Essays on Knowledge and Value

By (author) See other recent books by Isaac Levi
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $72.95
Your Price: $65.66 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $7.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $3.28 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply, Not for Xmas



Decisions and Revisions by Isaac Levi

Book Description

This is a collection of Isaac Levi's philosophical papers. Over the period represented by the work here, Professor Levi has developed an interrelated set of views, in the tradition of Peirce and Dewey, on epistemology and the philosophy of science and social science. This focus has been on the problem of induction and the growth of knowledge, the foundations of probability and the theory of rational decision-making. His most important essays in these areas are assembled here, with an introduction setting out their main themes and connections. As a whole the volume presents a coherent, elaborated position which will be of great interest to a range of philosophers, decision theorists, welfare and social choice theorists and cognitive scientists.

Buy Decisions and Revisions book by Isaac Levi from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521027625
ISBN-10: 0521027624
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 18mm)
Pages: 312
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 2-Nov-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Isaac Levi

Pragmatism and Inquiry by Isaac Levi Pragmatism and Inquiry, Hardback (September 2012)

This volume presents a series of essays on the nature of intellectual inquiry: what its aims are and how it operates. Isaac Levi draws upon the work of the American Pragmatists C. S. Peirce and John Dewey to investigate what justifies change in belief.

Fixation of Belief and Its Undoing by Isaac Levi Fixation of Belief and Its Undoing, Paperback (May 2009)

This book will be of particular interest to discussion theorists, epistemologists, philosophers of science, computer scientists and cognitive psychologists.

For the Sake of the Argument by Isaac Levi For the Sake of the Argument, Paperback (August 2007)

This book offers an account of suppositional reasoning relevant to practical deliberation, explanation, prediction and hypothesis testing.

Mild Contraction by Isaac Levi Mild Contraction, Hardback (June 2004)

Isaac Levi develops further his pioneering work in formal epistemology, focusing on the problem of belief contraction, or how rationally to relinquish old beliefs. Levi offers a completely new solution, explaining its relation to his earlier proposals.

» View all books by Isaac Levi

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Decisions and Revisions book by Isaac Levi and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Isaac Levi close
Pragmatism and Inquiry by Isaac Levi
Fixation of Belief and Its Undoing by Isaac Levi
For the Sake of the Argument by Isaac Levi
Mild Contraction by Isaac Levi
Risk, Ambiguity and Decision by Isaac Levi
Covenant of Reason by Isaac Levi
Covenant of Reason by Isaac Levi
For the Sake of the Argument by Isaac Levi
Fixation of Belief and its Undoing by Isaac Levi
Hard Choices by Isaac Levi
Decisions and Revisions by Isaac Levi
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close