Degree of Guilt by Richard North Patterson
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Degree of Guilt
By Richard North Patterson

Degree of Guilt

By (author) See other recent books by Richard North Patterson
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.90 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Degree of Guilt by Richard North Patterson

Book Description

Christopher Paget is a trial lawyer with a famous past: as a young investigator in Washington he unearthed a scandal that brought ruin to the President - and an abrupt end to his affair with journalist Mary Carelli. Now, fifteen years later, Carelli is a famous TV journalist in New York and Paget is leading a relatively tranquil life raising their son in San Francisco. Until a charge of murder changes everything. The victim - a world famous (and infamous) novelist. The accused - Mary Carelli. When Paget agrees to defend her, largely for the sake of their son, her claims of attempted rape and self-defence seem water-tight. But gradually secrets from her past come to light and Paget is suddenly facing an explosive mix of public trial and personal conflict leaving his own and his son's fates vulnerable and exposed.

Buy Degree of Guilt book by Richard North Patterson from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099296911
ISBN-10: 0099296918
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 111mm x 32mm)
Pages: 608
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 6-Jan-1994
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Richard North Patterson

Fall from Grace by Richard North Patterson Fall from Grace, Paperback / softback (January 2015)

Adam Blaine has returned to his childhood home in Martha's Vineyard to bury the father he despised. Here, reunited with his equally relieved and long-suffering family, he becomes aware of the suspicious circumstances surrounding his father's death. As Adam will soon discover, it is a death born of a long-hidden truth.

Loss of Innocence by Richard North Patterson Loss of Innocence, Paperback (March 2014)

A sweeping family drama of dark secrets and individual awakenings, set during the most consequential summer of recent American history.

» View all books by Richard North Patterson


US Kirkus Review » Finally, a courtroom drama to rival Presumed Innocent: The scandal-strewn, hugely entertaining story of what happens after a glamorous TV reporter shoots America's most famous writer in his San Francisco hotel room. As soon as the police take Mary Carelli in after her 911 call, she admits killing Mark Ransom but insists she was defending herself against a rapist who was so obsessed with the story of movie-star Laura Chase - who shot herself 20 years ago after a devastating weekend (never before made public) in which Senator James Colt and two friends repeatedly assaulted her - that he could perform sexually only to the accompaniment of an audiotape of that weekend he'd secretly obtained. Now that James Colt, Jr., is running for governor, the D.A.'s office is under pressure to keep that tape under wraps. Meanwhile, another tape of Ransom forces Mary to confront ugly secrets about her own meteoric rise through her testimony 15 years ago against Presidential staffer Jack Woods - testimony that helped Woods's subordinate, rising star Christopher Paget, bring charges of corruption that destroyed both Woods and the President (as detailed in Patterson's first novel, The Lasko Tangent). Predicting the traumatic impact of these revelations on Paget's beloved son Carlo, whom she's never acknowledged as her own, Mary pressures Paget to defend her on the murder charge. When Mary's account of sexual assault begins to unravel, she seems dead in the water - until Paget uncovers evidence that Ransom had a long history of S/M fantasies with his wife, with an actress whose credits are just like Jane Fonds's, and with a New Yorker writer, whom he assaulted in exactly the same circumstances Mary describes. But there are dozens of fireworks, both in and out of the courtroom, left to come. Juicy hints of Washington secrets, agonizing decisions about professional and family loyalties, a backstory that plugs into all your most paranoid fantasies connecting the Kennedys, Marilyn Monroe, and Watergate - and all this on top of a polished talc of courtroom intrigue. Patterson's target audience seems to be everybody who's ever read a book - and most of them will consider it money well-spent. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Degree of Guilt book by Richard North Patterson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Richard North Patterson

Richard North Patterson has written a number of novels including the international bestsellers, Degree of Guilt, Eyes of a Child, The Final Judgement, Silent Witness, No Safe Place, Dark Lady and Protect and Defend. His novels have won the Edgar Allan Poe Award and the Grand Prix de Litterature Policiere. He and his wife, Laurie, live with their family in San Francisco and on Martha's Vineyard.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Richard North Patterson close
Fever Swamp by Richard North Patterson
Eden in Winter by Richard North Patterson
Fall from Grace by Richard North Patterson
Eden in Winter by Richard North Patterson
Loss of Innocence by Richard North Patterson
Eden in Winter by Richard North Patterson
Lasko Tangent by Richard North Patterson
Loss of Innocence by Richard North Patterson
Loss of Innocence by Richard North Patterson
Fall from Grace by Richard North Patterson
Fall from Grace by Richard North Patterson
Fall from Grace by Richard North Patterson
Devil's Light by Richard North Patterson
Silent Witness by Richard North Patterson
Spire by Richard North Patterson
Eclipse by Richard North Patterson
Race by Richard North Patterson
Conviction by Richard North Patterson
Protect and Defend by Richard North Patterson
Dark Lady by Richard North Patterson
» close