Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought by Mohammad Abed al-Jabri
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought
By Mohammad Abed al-Jabri

Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought

By (author) See other recent books by Mohammad Abed al-Jabri
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $78.00
Your Price: $70.20 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $7.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $3.51 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought by Mohammad Abed al-Jabri

Book Description

This is the first time major works of major Arab philosopher translated in to English. Mohammad Abed al-Jabri is one of the most influential political philosophers in the contemporary Middle East. A critical rationalist in the tradition of Avincenna and Averroes, he emphasises the distinctive political and cultural heritage of the Arab world whilst rejecting the philosophical discourses that have been used to obscure its democratic deficit.This volume introduces an English-language audience for the first time to writings that have had a major impact on Arab political thought. Wide-ranging in scope yet focused in detail, these essays interrogate concepts such as democracy, law, and human rights, looking at how they have been applied in the history of the Arab world, and show that they are determined by political and social context, not by Islamic doctrine. Jabri argues that in order to develop democratic societies in which human rights are respected, the Arab world cannot simply rely on old texts and traditions. Nor can it import democratic models from the West. Instead, he says, a new tradition will have to be forged by today's Arabs themselves, on their own terms.

Buy Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought book by Mohammad Abed al-Jabri from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781845117498
ISBN-10: 1845117492
Format: Hardback
(234mm x 156mm x 25mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: I.B.Tauris
Publisher: I.B.Tauris & Co Ltd
Publish Date: 30-Oct-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought book by Mohammad Abed al-Jabri and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Mohammad Abed al-Jabri

Mohammad Abed-al Jabri is Professor of Philosophy at the Mohammed V University in Rabat, Morocco. He was one of the authors of the infuential 2002 Arab Human Development Report.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Mohammad Abed al-Jabri close
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close