Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade by Richard Layman
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade
By Richard Layman

Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

The Evolution of Dashiell Hammett's Masterpiece, Including John Huston's Movie with Humphrey Bogart

Edited by See other recent books by Richard Layman
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $38.35
Your Price: $34.51 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.83! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.73 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade by Richard Layman

Book Description

Named by Mystery Writers of America as the 2006 Edgar Award finalist for Best Critical/Biographical Book of the Year The Maltese Falcon has been widely lauded since its original publication in 1930. In its movie adaptation, it not only birthed American film noir but also ranks as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time, as selected by the American Film Institute. Now this treasury of memorabilia on Sam Spade and his creator, Dashiell Hammett, uncovers a wealth of documents and photos about the book and movie from institutional and private archives, many of which are previously unpublished and are available nowhere else. Providing far more information than any resource before it, the book delves deeply into the tale of the jeweled avian statue, including a full account of Hammett's detective career, a chronology of his life and publications, sources and notes the author used in constructing the book, and never-before-seen documents from the book's film, stage, and radio adaptations. This version has been updated to include additional contents, color photos, and an index. Available now for any audience, it will be a joy for fans of Sam Spade, Hammett, film noir, and the history of cinema and literature.

Buy Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade book by Richard Layman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780972589864
ISBN-10: 0972589864
Format: Paperback
(254mm x 177mm x 22mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Vince Emery Productions
Publisher: Vince Emery Productions
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author Richard Layman

Hunter and Other Stories by Richard Layman Hunter and Other Stories, Paperback / softback (October 2014)

An anthology of eighteen short stories includes a number of previously unpublished pieces as well as early screen treatments for "On the Make" and "The Kiss-Off."

Some Champions by Richard Layman Some Champions, Paperback (January 1993)

A selection of sketches by humourist Ring Lardner. Taken from a variety of publications, from "Good Housekeeping" to "The New Yorker", this collection includes "What I Ought to Have Learnt in School", "Insomnia", "X-Ray" and "Who's Who - and Why".

» View all books by Richard Layman


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade book by Richard Layman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Richard Layman

Richard Layman is the author of several books on Dashiell Hammett. He has been nominated for an Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America. He is also vice president of the publishing company Bruccoli Clark Layman Inc. which produces reference works in literary and social history, and is the editorial director for the Dictionary of Literary Biography series. He lives in Columbia, South Carolina.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Richard Layman close
Hunter and Other Stories by Richard Layman
Hunter and Other Stories by Richard Layman
Return of the Thin Man by Richard Layman
Some Champions by Richard Layman
Shadow Man by Richard Layman
» close