Divine Comedies by Tom Holt
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Divine Comedies
By Tom Holt

Divine Comedies

Omnibus 3 "Here Comes the Sun", "Odd and Gods!"

By (author) See other recent books by Tom Holt
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $23.27
Your Price: $20.95 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.33! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.05 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



Divine Comedies by Tom Holt

Book Description

HERE COMES THE SUN The sun rises late, dirty and so badly in need of a service it's a wonder it gets up at all. The moon's going to be scrapped soon and a new one commissioned - but they've been saying that for years ...All is not well with the universe, and it's because the mortals are running the show. It's time for a Higher Power to take charge ...ODDS AND GODS It's a god's life at the Sunnyvoyde Residential Home for retired deities. Everlasting life can be a real drag when all you've got to look forward to is cauliflower cheese on Wednesdays. But things are about to change, because those almighty duffers Thor, Odin and Frey have restored a thousand-year-old traction engine ...and the thing actually works. Then there's Osiris, preparing to set out on a quest that will test his wheelchair to the very limits. Only one thing might save the world. Dentures.

Buy Divine Comedies book by Tom Holt from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781841491455
ISBN-10: 1841491454
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 128mm x 40mm)
Pages: 624
Imprint: Orbit
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 5-Dec-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Tom Holt

Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt Good, the Bad and the Smug, Paperback (July 2015)

A witty fantasy novel of good, evil and everything inbetween, from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams

When it's Ajar by Tom Holt When it's Ajar, Paperback (December 2013)

An absurdly witty novel of alternate universes and very unlikely heroes from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett

When It's a Jar by Tom Holt When It's a Jar, Paperback / softback (December 2013)

A man slays a dragon that had has his girlfriend spirited away with a bread knife, while another man wakes up trapped in a jar.

» View all books by Tom Holt

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » While Terry Pratchett may be the undisputed king of comic fantasy writing, few would argue that Tom Holt is his heir apparent. And Holt is often more sardonically inventive than Pratchett, as this welcome anthology of two comic fantasies in one volume comprehensively proves. Here Comes the Sun and Odds and Gods are two of the author's most vertiginously inventive pieces, full of the crackpot logic and exuberant plotting that are his trademark. Here Comes the Sun posits a universe in which all is not well, in a cosmic sense: the moon is about to be decommissioned and replaced by something more up-to-date, while the sun has seen better days; the evidence is that mortals have made a mess of the universe, and it's time for more eldritch forces to give everything a spring-clean. Odds and Gods has a similarly surrealistic premise: at the Sunnyvoyde residential home, retired deities can put their feet up, complain loudly, and try to make the most of their new home with its indifferent catering. But everything changes when Thor, Odin and Frey give an overhaul to a thousand-year old traction engine. Holt's subjects are quite unlike those of any other author (fantasy or otherwise), and the manic dedication with which he sees through his outrageous premises truly takes the breath away. The whimsy here is not for everyone, needless to say, but those on Tom Holt's wavelength are in for a highly diverting time. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Divine Comedies book by Tom Holt and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Tom Holt

Tom Holt is the author of such comic fantasy classics as: Expecting Someone Taller, Who's Afraid of Beowulf?, Flying Dutch, Ye Gods!, Overtime, Here Comes the Sun, Grailblazers, Faust Among Equals, Odds and Gods, Djinn Rummy, My Hero, Paint Your Dragon and Open Sesame

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Tom Holt close
Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt
Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt
Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt
Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt
When it's Ajar by Tom Holt
When It's a Jar by Tom Holt
Doughnut by Tom Holt
Doughnut by Tom Holt
Lucia Triumphant by Tom Holt
Lucia in Wartime by Tom Holt
Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Sausages by Tom Holt
Blonde Bombshell by Tom Holt
May Contain Traces of Magic by Tom Holt
Better Mousetrap by Tom Holt
Barking by Tom Holt
You Don't Have to be Evil to Work Here, But it Helps by Tom Holt
Earth, Air, Fire and Custard by Tom Holt
In Your Dreams by Tom Holt
Fishy Wishes by Tom Holt
Saints and Sinners by Tom Holt
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close