Emperor of Scent by Chandler Burr
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Emperor of Scent
By Chandler Burr

The Emperor of Scent

A Story of Perfume, Obsession and the Last Mystery of the Senses

By (author) See other recent books by Chandler Burr
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $21.16
Your Price: $19.04 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.12! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.95 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



Emperor of Scent by Chandler Burr

Book Description

In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the secret of the most enigmatic of our senses.

Buy Emperor of Scent book by Chandler Burr from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780099460237
ISBN-10: 0099460238
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 130mm x 30mm)
Pages: 496
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 4-Mar-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Chandler Burr

Dior Perfumes by Chandler Burr Dior Perfumes, Hardback (September 2014)

An exquisite exploration of the relationship between Christian Dior and perfumes, celebrating sixty-five years of inspiration, innovation, and style.

You or Someone Like You by Chandler Burr You or Someone Like You, Paperback (September 2011)

Anne is the quiet, clever but generally overlooked wife of a powerful Hollywood producer. Inadvertently, and somewhat to her own surprise, Anne starts a book group for a small group of her husband's colleagues in the movie industry.

Perfect Scent by Chandler Burr Perfect Scent, Paperback / softback

From the "New York Times" perfume critic comes a stylish, fascinating, unprecedented insiders view of an industry and its charismatic characters. Writing with wit and elegance, Burr juxtaposes the stories of two perfumes--one created for a luxury-goods house, the other made by a giant international corporation.

» View all books by Chandler Burr

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » It was on the Eurostar Paris to London trip that the author met Luca Turin and was so fascinated by the scientist's account of his research that he asked permission to write a book about it. The obsession of the subtitle is Turin's passionate search for an explanation of the human ability to recognize and differentiate between different scents. As well as a theme and a strong central character a good story needs tension, and here it is provided by the reluctance of fellow scientists to acknowledge Turin's findings. It all began when Turin's delight in analysing smell led him to write a book describing the different perfumes on the market; this gave him an entry into the world of what the author calls the Big Boys, those who make their money from funding new perfumes and selling them; it also gave him access to the archives of those chemists involved in creating perfume. When Turin was offered a two-year contract by University College, London, he studied the existing theories of smell which suggested that the olfactory process was dependent on the shape of molecules. Turin became uneasy about this theory and when he chanced on an article about an electron tunnelling spectroscope he came up with his own idea which he called Vibration Theory. The BBC offered Luca Turin an opportunity to discuss this on a Horizon programme but the article he submitted to the top scientific journal, Nature, was turned down after peer reviews rejected it. He was ridiculed and shunned by those controlling invitations to conferences. The author states that Turin's detractors have refused to comment on the reasons for their coldness but he suggests that envy, vanity and cussedness may have something to do with it. Although Burr has written with coherence and lucidity, the complex passages explaining the scientific process are not easy for the general reader to fathom but every reader will enjoy the inside stories about perfume, about life at University College and the vivid accounts of Turin's triumphs and bitter clashes with colleagues. An eye-opener for those who thought that scientists were calm, fair and dispassionate. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Emperor of Scent book by Chandler Burr and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Chandler Burr

Chandler Burr is the author of A Separate Creation: The Search for the Biological Origins of Sexual Orientation. He has contributed to the Atlantic, was a Contributing Editor at US News & World Report, and has written for the New York Times Magazine, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and other publications. He lives in New York.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Chandler Burr close
Dior Perfumes by Chandler Burr
You or Someone Like You by Chandler Burr
You or Someone Like You by Chandler Burr
Perfect Scent by Chandler Burr
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close