England's Mistress by Kate Williams
Look inside with Google Book Preview
England's Mistress
By Kate Williams

England's Mistress

The Infamous Life of Emma Hamilton

By (author) See other recent books by Kate Williams
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $23.27
Your Price: $20.95 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.33! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.05 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



England's Mistress by Kate Williams

Book Awards

  • Shortlisted for Marsh Biography Award 2007.

Book Description

A dramatic, sparkling tale of sex, glamour, intrigue, romance and heartbreak, "England's Mistress" traces the rise and rise of the gorgeous Emma Hamilton. Born into poverty, she clawed her way up through London's underworlds of sex for sale to become England's first media superstar. Nothing could stand in the way of her dreams - except her self-destructive desires. Drawing on hundreds of previously undiscovered letters, and told with a novelist's flair, "England's Mistress" captures the relentless drive, innovative style and burning passion of a true heroine. In a world of tabloid fame and three-minute wonders, Emma's life is truly a tale for our time.

Buy England's Mistress book by Kate Williams from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780099451839
ISBN-10: 0099451832
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 29mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 7-Jun-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Kate Williams

Emma Hamilton by Kate Williams Emma Hamilton, Hardback (November 2016)

Emma Hamilton (1765-1815) rose to national and international fame as a model, performer, trendsetter and interpreter of neoclassical fashion. Accompanying a major exhibition at the National Maritime Museum, from November 2016 to April 2017, this book provides an evaluation of Emma Hamilton's artistic undertakings, cultural achievements and legacy.

Young Elizabeth by Kate Williams Young Elizabeth, Hardback (October 2016)

A lively and poignant biography of the young princess who, at the impressionable age of eleven, found that she was now heiress to the throne, by the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Queen Victoria.

Storms of War by Kate Williams Storms of War, Hardback (October 2015)

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, from New York Times bestselling author Kate Williams.

» View all books by Kate Williams

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » A pretty streetwalker from northern England becomes a painter's model, high-class courtesan and then mistress to Lord Nelson himself in this businesslike portrait of Emma Hamilton.British historian Williams begins her subject's rags-to-riches story in squalid, coal-rich Ness, near Liverpool, where Emma, nee Amy Lyon, was forced in her early teens to become a servant when her alcoholic and possibly tubercular father killed himself. When she moved to London, the city's amusements proved more compelling than scrubbing floors; her employer cast her out in the street, but her good looks and determination secured her a job at Drury Lane as a wardrobe mistress, while she moonlighted as a model for artists George Romney and Joshua Reynolds. Top-drawer brothel work followed, then stag parties hosted by aristocrats like Sir Harry of Uppark, who got her pregnant and then passed her off to Charles Grenville of Paddington. She changed her name to Emma Hart and sent for her mother to keep house for her. Once Grenville grew tired of her, she was handed off to his uncle, Sir William Hamilton, who lavished her with riches and actually married her, making her a lady and favorite of aristocrats eager to wear their fashions "a la Emma." Nuts-and-bolts prose recounts Emma's incredible rise without a lot of razzle-dazzle: Moving to Naples, she grew close to Queen Maria Carolina and met Lord Nelson on his way through the Mediterranean to resist Napoleon's troops in 1798. Battered, with only one eye and one arm remaining after the Battle of the Nile, the married admiral soon fell for the charming hostess, who set about cuckolding her husband and bearing Lord Nelson a child, to the delight of the press. In her debut, Williams writes sternly of her often silly protagonist, but drops the occasional feminist justification, e.g., "Despite all her charisma, intelligence, and charm, Emma had no rights and had to rely on what she could win from men."No fascinating new dish here, but a meat-and-potatoes biography. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about England's Mistress book by Kate Williams and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Kate Williams

Kate Williams fell in love with the eighteenth century whilst studying for her BA at the University of Oxford. She has an MA from Queen Mary, University of London and a DPhil from the University of Oxford. Her articles and essays have been published in a wide range of books and journals and she is a lecturer and TV consultant, appearing regularly on BBC and Channel 4 to discuss her work. She lives in London.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Kate Williams close
Emma Hamilton by Kate Williams
Young Elizabeth by Kate Williams
Edge of the Fall by Kate Williams
Edge of the Fall by Kate Williams
Edge of the Fall by Kate Williams
Edge of the Fall by Kate Williams
Storms of War by Kate Williams
Storms of War by Kate Williams
Storms of War by Kate Williams
Getting Critical by Kate Williams
Josephine by Kate Williams
Josephine by Kate Williams
Construction Adjudication and Payments Handbook by Kate Williams
Planning Your Dissertation by Kate Williams
Young Elizabeth by Kate Williams
Avoiding Errors in Paediatrics by Kate Williams
Reflective Writing by Kate Williams
Pleasures of Men by Kate Williams
Young Elizabeth the Making of Our Queen by Kate Williams
Frederick the Great by Kate Williams
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close