English Fiction Since 1984 by Brian Finney
Look inside with Google Book Preview
English Fiction Since 1984
By Brian Finney

English Fiction Since 1984

Narrating a Nation

By (author) See other recent books by Brian Finney
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $228.37
Your Price: $205.53 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $22.84! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $10.28 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

English Fiction Since 1984 by Brian Finney

Book Description

This book focuses on representative novels by eleven key English novelists who have broken from the realist novel of the post Second World War period. They have reacted to the Thatcherite revolution that thrust Britain into the modern world of multi-national capitalism by giving unusual fictional shape to the impact of global events and culture.

Buy English Fiction Since 1984 book by Brian Finney from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780230008557
ISBN-10: 0230008550
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 140mm x 17mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
Publish Date: 10-Oct-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Brian Finney

Martin Amis by Brian Finney Martin Amis, Paperback (May 2008)

Booker-shortlisted for "Time's Arrow" and known for his novels, short stories, essays, reviews, and autobiographical works, Martin Amis is one of the influential of contemporary British writers. This guide to Amis' diverse and often controversial work offers an introduction to the contexts and various interpretations of his texts.

Prussian Officer and Other Stories by Brian Finney Prussian Officer and Other Stories, Paperback (January 1995)

A collection of twelve stories written between 1907 and 1914. It ranges from the tale of a Prussian officer who drives his orderly towards a reckoning, to the elements of 'A Fragment of Stained Glass', and the divisions within society and conflicts of the heart that form the themes of 'Daughters of a Vicar'.

St Mawr and Other Stories by Brian Finney St Mawr and Other Stories, Paperback (October 1987)

St Mawr and Other Stories is newly edited from Lawrence's original manuscripts and typescripts.

» View all books by Brian Finney


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about English Fiction Since 1984 book by Brian Finney and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Brian Finney

BRIAN FINNEY is an Associate Professor in English at California State University, Long Beach, USA. He taught at London University from 1964-1987, and, since emigrating to the USA, at UCR, UCLA, and USC. He has published Since How It Is: A Study of Samuel Beckett's Later Fiction (1972), Christopher Isherwood: A Critical Biography for which he awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1979, The Inner I: British Literary Autobiography of the Twentieth Century (1985) and D. H. Lawrence: Sons and Lovers: A Critical Study (1990).

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Brian Finney close
Martin Amis by Brian Finney
Prussian Officer and Other Stories by Brian Finney
St Mawr and Other Stories by Brian Finney
BoomerangBooks.com.au close