Essays, Mainly Shakespearean by Anne Barton
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Essays, Mainly Shakespearean
By Anne Barton

Essays, Mainly Shakespearean

By (author) See other recent books by Anne Barton
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $84.95
Your Price: $76.46 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $8.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $3.82 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply, Not for Xmas



Essays, Mainly Shakespearean by Anne Barton

Book Description

Anne Barton's essays on Shakespeare and his contemporaries are characterized by their combination of intelligence, humanity and elegance. In this linked but wide-ranging collection she addresses such diverse issues as Shakespeare's trust (and mistrust) of language, the puzzle of Falstaff's inability to survive in a genuinely comic world, the unconsummated marriage of Imogen and Posthumus in Cymbeline, Shakespeare's debt to Livy and Machiavelli in Coriolanus, 'hidden' kings in the Tudor and Stuart history play, comedy and the city, and deer-parks as places of liberation and danger in English drama up to and beyond the Restoration. Professor Barton looks at both major and neglected plays of the period and the ongoing dialogue between them. Taken together the essays reveal a remarkable range of reference and depth of insight, together with an increasing emphasis on historical and social contexts.

Buy Essays, Mainly Shakespearean book by Anne Barton from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521032797
ISBN-10: 0521032792
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 23mm)
Pages: 408
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 18-Jan-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Anne Barton

One Wild Winter's Eve by Anne Barton One Wild Winter's Eve, Paperback (October 2015)

A fourth sexy Regency romance from award-winning author Anne Barton that will appeal to fans of New York Times bestselling authors Elizabeth Hoyt and Sarah MacLean.

Scandalous Summer Nights by Anne Barton Scandalous Summer Nights, Paperback (August 2014)

A third sexy Regency romance from award-winning Author Anne Barton that will appeal to fans of New York Times bestselling authors Elizabeth Hoyt and Sarah MacLean.

Once She Was Tempted by Anne Barton Once She Was Tempted, Paperback (October 2013)

A second sexy regency romance from award winning author Anne Barton that will appeal to fans of New York Times bestselling authors Elizabeth Hoyt and Sarah MacLean.

When She Was Wicked by Anne Barton When She Was Wicked, Paperback (February 2013)

Project Runway meets Downton Abbey in this sparkling Regency debut from Anne Barton--perfect for fans of New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Hoyt and Jennifer Haymore.

» View all books by Anne Barton

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Essays, Mainly Shakespearean book by Anne Barton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Anne Barton close
One Wild Winter's Eve by Anne Barton
Scandalous Summer Nights by Anne Barton
Once She Was Tempted by Anne Barton
When She Was Wicked by Anne Barton
Byron: Don Juan by Anne Barton
Shakespeare's Troy by Anne Barton
Theatre, Finance and Society in Early Modern England by Anne Barton
Reformation of the Subject by Anne Barton
Eroticism on the Renaissance Stage by Anne Barton
Shakespeare and the Theatre of Wonder by Anne Barton
Defending Literature in Early Modern England by Anne Barton
Marketplace of Print by Anne Barton
From Playhouse to Printing House by Anne Barton
Rhetoric of the Body from Ovid to Shakespeare by Anne Barton
Foreign Bodies and the Body Politic by Anne Barton
Limits of Eroticism in Post-Petrarchan Narrative by Anne Barton
Performance of Nobility in Early Modern European Literature by Anne Barton
Writing, Gender and State in Early Modern England by Anne Barton
Courtly Letters in the Age of Henry VIII by Anne Barton
Romance of the New World by Anne Barton
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close