Every Boy by Dana Adam Shapiro
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Every Boy
By Dana Adam Shapiro

The Every Boy

By (author) See other recent books by Dana Adam Shapiro
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $22.99
Your Price: $20.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.03 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Every Boy by Dana Adam Shapiro

Book Description

In the tradition of John Irving and Tom Perrotta, The Every Boy finds humor in dysfunction and hope in the roller coaster of self-discovery. During his short lifetime, Henry Every flirted badly with girls, broke into the houses in his neighborhood, fantasised about being a minority, and killed a great blue heron. His sudden, unexplained death was a shock to all who knew him, especially his father. Alone now in his suburban house, Harlan Every pores over his late son's secret thoughts in an attempt to connect with the boy he never really knew - and to figure out how he died. Harlan had reached out to his son in the only ways he knew how: giving competitive boxing lessons, sharing marine-life minutiae, and doling out hard-bitten maxims about how to get the upper hand in life.Now, for the first time, Harlan really listens. He learns the truth about Henry's many misadventures and transgressions. He also discovers the part he played in Henry's tragic death and the real reason his wife walked out years ago.The story grows into two parallel love stories - one past, one present - with very different outcomes. Both whimsical and wise, The Every Boy is a page-turning mystery, an exploration of fathers and sons, a romance, and a one-of-a-kind celebration of human individuality.

Buy Every Boy book by Dana Adam Shapiro from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781740663205
ISBN-10: 1740663209
Format: Paperback
(201mm x 135mm x 18mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Hardie Grant Books
Publisher: Hardie Grant Books
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2005
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...

Books By Author Dana Adam Shapiro


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Every Boy book by Dana Adam Shapiro and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Dana Adam Shapiro close
You Can Be Right (or You Can Be Married) by Dana Adam Shapiro
Every Boy by Dana Adam Shapiro
BoomerangBooks.com.au close