Eyrie by Stevie Davies
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Stevie Davies

The Eyrie

By (author) See other recent books by Stevie Davies
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $22.99
Your Price: $20.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.03 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Eyrie by Stevie Davies

Book Description

Nobody at The Eyrie is quite like Red Dora - in her eighties, she's a Scots ex-Communist, ex-Trotskyite who fought in the Spanish Civil War. With her fiery brand of radical anticapitalism, she conjures plans of political sabotage and computer hacking. She rails at a society that seems to have forgotten its political roots and a government that doesn't care. But beneath her rage lies a more intimate disappointment, a tragic death she has yet to come to terms with. Eirlys is a madly patriotic Welsh woman with a brass dragon on her door. She is the 'mother' of the The Eyrie's little clan - always providing tea and sympathy. Little do the other residents suspect that Eirlys was once in prison...Hannah comes to The Eyrie to escape years of boredom in a dreary middle-class marriage to a man she never loved. Reveling in her new found freedom, she finds that life at The Eyrie offers surprising new opportunities and an unlikely co-conspirator in Red Dora.

Buy Eyrie book by Stevie Davies from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780753823545
ISBN-10: 0753823543
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 129mm x 20mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date: 21-Feb-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Stevie Davies

Equivocator by Stevie Davies Equivocator, Hardback (April 2016)

Sebastian has long been haunted by the disappearance of his father, the celebrated travel writer Jack Messenger. When the the enigmatic Rhys Salvatore re-emerges and throws all Sebastian thinks he knows about his father into doubt, the son is forced to ponder: how does Salvatore know Sebastian, and what are his connections to Jack Messenger?

Awakening by Stevie Davies Awakening, Paperback (December 2014)

Wiltshire 1860: One year after Darwin's explosive publication of The Origin of Species, sisters Anna and Beatrice Pentecost awaken to a world shattered by science, radicalism and the stirrings of feminist rebellion; a world of charismatic religious movements, Spiritualist seances, bitter loss and medical trauma.

Jane Eyre by Stevie Davies Jane Eyre, Hardback (November 2008)

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity.

Eyrie by Stevie Davies Eyrie, Hardback (February 2007)

An ex-Communist, a Welsh radical, and a mother on the run from domesticity - the new book from prize-winning novelist Stevie Davis will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Ali Smith

» View all books by Stevie Davies


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Eyrie book by Stevie Davies and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Stevie Davies

Stevie Davies is the Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow at Swansea University and is a novelist, historian and literary critic. She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Stevie Davies close
Equivocator by Stevie Davies
Awakening by Stevie Davies
Jane Eyre by Stevie Davies
Eyrie by Stevie Davies
Jane Eyre by Stevie Davies
Kith and Kin by Stevie Davies
Four Dreamers and Emily by Stevie Davies
Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Stevie Davies
Bronte Sisters by Stevie Davies
BoomerangBooks.com.au close