Falling Sideways by Tom Holt
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Falling Sideways
By Tom Holt

Falling Sideways

By (author) See other recent books by Tom Holt
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.04
Your Price: $17.13 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.90! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.86 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



Falling Sideways by Tom Holt

Book Description

From the moment the first Homo Sapiens descended from the trees, possibly onto their heads, humanity has striven towards civilisation. Fire. The Wheel. Running Away from furry things with more teeth than one might reasonably expect - all are testament to man's ultimate ascendancy. It is a noble story, a triumph of intelligence over adversity and so, of course, complete and utter fiction. For one man has discovered the hideous truth: that humanity's ascent has been ruthlessly guided by a small gang of devious frogs. More information on this book and others can be found on the Orbit web-site at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Buy Falling Sideways book by Tom Holt from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781841491103
ISBN-10: 1841491101
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 125mm x 27mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Orbit
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 6-Jun-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Tom Holt

Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt Good, the Bad and the Smug, Paperback (July 2015)

A witty fantasy novel of good, evil and everything inbetween, from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams

Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt Outsorcerer's Apprentice, Paperback (July 2014)

A story of overlords, underlings and inhuman resources, The Outsorcerer's Apprentice is the hilarious new novel from comic fantasist Tom Holt.

When It's a Jar by Tom Holt When It's a Jar, Paperback / softback (December 2013)

A man slays a dragon that had has his girlfriend spirited away with a bread knife, while another man wakes up trapped in a jar.

When it's Ajar by Tom Holt When it's Ajar, Paperback (December 2013)

An absurdly witty novel of alternate universes and very unlikely heroes from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett

» View all books by Tom Holt

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » This is an everyday tale of cloning, talking frogs, and, ahem, Watford. David Perkins is a 30-something computer programmer with no social life. He spends much of his free time at an art gallery, looking at a centuries-old portrait of a beautiful noblewoman named Philippa Levens. A lock of her hair comes up for auction, and David thinks little of spending #12,000 to get closer to the object of his futile desires. Futile, that is, until he happens across a backstreet cloning operation in a quiet area of West London. The establishment, run by Honest John, is able to offer lovesick David the answer to his prayers for a knockdown bargain price of #100. It is a pity then that the fair Philippa turns out to be a terrible snob with a wicked temper, as well as a suspiciously high degree of knowledge of the modern world, given that she was burned as a witch in 1602. Philippa's lack of social graces is soon the least of David's problems, as her reanimation proves to be the catalyst for a dizzying chain of events and encounters that include David's every move being haunted by any one of a dozen or more oddly similar-looking men, a murder charge and an interplanetary elevator, not to mention those articulate amphibians. This is an engaging farce, and no brief precis could really do justice to its labyrinthine intrigues. Events often threaten to get completely out of hand for David, our unlikely hero, but an apparently flawless internal logic renders everything oddly plausible in Holt's skewed vision of the world. The author's obvious enthusiasm for his characters is infectious, and it is easy to get caught up in their dilemmas and crises of identity, and will them to capture what passes for success and happiness in their complicated lives. Some of the British cultural references may not travel well, and the incessant use of simile can lessen the effect of those comparisons that really hit the mark (such as the description of a character's smile as being one that you could pour on strawberries), but these are minor criticisms. Overall, the book is delightfully daft, but relates its tale with commendable conviction, allowing the reader to believe in the impossible. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Falling Sideways book by Tom Holt and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Tom Holt

Tom Holt is the author of such comic fantasy classics as: Expecting Someone Taller, Who's Afraid of Beowulf?, Flying Dutch, Ye Gods!, Overtime, Here Comes the Sun, Grailblazers, Faust Among Equals, Odds and Gods, Djinn Rummy, My Hero, Paint Your Dragon and Open Sesame

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Tom Holt close
Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt
Good, the Bad and the Smug by Tom Holt
Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt
Outsorcerer's Apprentice by Tom Holt
When It's a Jar by Tom Holt
When it's Ajar by Tom Holt
Doughnut by Tom Holt
Doughnut by Tom Holt
Lucia Triumphant by Tom Holt
Lucia in Wartime by Tom Holt
Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Sausages by Tom Holt
Blonde Bombshell by Tom Holt
May Contain Traces of Magic by Tom Holt
Better Mousetrap by Tom Holt
Barking by Tom Holt
You Don't Have to be Evil to Work Here, But it Helps by Tom Holt
Earth, Air, Fire and Custard by Tom Holt
In Your Dreams by Tom Holt
Fishy Wishes by Tom Holt
Saints and Sinners by Tom Holt
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close