Fears of Henry IV by Ian Mortimer
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Fears of Henry IV
By Ian Mortimer

The Fears of Henry IV

The Life of England's Self-Made King

By (author) See other recent books by Ian Mortimer
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $22.47
Your Price: $20.22 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.25! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.01 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



Fears of Henry IV by Ian Mortimer

Book Description

In June 1405, King Henry IV stopped at a small Yorkshire manor house to shelter from a storm. That night he awoke screaming that traitors were burning his skin. His instinctive belief that he was being poisoned was understandable: he had already survived at least eight plots to dethrone or kill him in the first six years of his reign. Henry IV had not always been so unpopular. In his youth he had been a great chivalric champion and crusader. The son of John of Gaunt, he was courteous, confident, well-educated, generous, devoted to his family, musical and spiritually fervent. In 1399, at the age of thirty-two, he was enthusiastically greeted as the saviour of the realm when he ousted from power the insecure and tyrannical King Richard II. But therein lay Henry's weakness. He had to contend with men who supported him only as long as they could control him; when they failed, they plotted to kill him. Welsh, French and Scottish adversaries also tried to take advantage of his questionable right to the crown. Such overwhelming threats transformed him from a hero into a duplicitous murderer: a king prepared to go to any lengths to save his family and his throne. That legacy of unrest has defined Henry's subsequent reputation. Henry's notoriety in the sixteenth century was such that merely to write about him was to risk imprisonment in the Tower. Shakespeare was forced to downplay his achievements, and instead to present his adversary Richard II as the wronged man. But what Henry actually provoked was a social revolution as much as a political one. Against all the odds, he took a poorly ruled nation, established a new Lancastrian dynasty, and introduced the principle that a king must act in accordance with parliament. He might not have been the most glorious king England ever had, but he was one of the bravest, and certainly the greatest survivor of them all.

Buy Fears of Henry IV book by Ian Mortimer from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781844135295
ISBN-10: 1844135292
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 32mm)
Pages: 496
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Jul-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Ian Mortimer

Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer Outcasts of Time, Paperback (June 2017)

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', the publication of Ian Mortimer's first work of historical fiction is a hugely exciting event. A stunningly high-concept story that is both as daring as it is gripping, it is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

Edward II by Ian Mortimer Edward II, Paperback (May 2017)

The dramatic life and mysterious death of the reviled Edward II, focusing on the vivid personality of the erratic and contradictory king, his unorthodox lifestyle and his passionate relationships with his male favourites, including Piers Gaveston

Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain by Ian Mortimer Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, Hardback (April 2017)

What would it really be like to live in Restoration Britain? Where would you stay and what would you eat? What would you wear and where would you do your shopping? This book answers the crucial questions that a prospective traveller to seventeenth-century Britain would ask.

Millennium by Ian Mortimer Millennium, Hardback (November 2016)

History s greatest tour guide, Ian Mortimer, takes us on an eye-opening and expansive journey through the last millennium of human innovation."

» View all books by Ian Mortimer

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Fears of Henry IV book by Ian Mortimer and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Ian Mortimer

Dr Ian Mortimer is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England and The Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England, as well as four critically acclaimed medieval biographies, and numerous scholarly articles on subjects ranging in date from the twelfth to the twentieth centuries. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society in 1998. His work on the social history of medicine won the Alexander Prize (2004) and was published by the Royal Historical Society in 2009. He lives with his wife and three children in Moretonhampstead, on the edge of Dartmoor.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Ian Mortimer close
Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer
Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer
Edward II by Ian Mortimer
Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain by Ian Mortimer
Millennium by Ian Mortimer
Edward II by Ian Mortimer
Human Race by Ian Mortimer
Dying and the Doctors by Ian Mortimer
Edward II by Ian Mortimer
Centuries of Change by Ian Mortimer
Time Traveler's Guide to Elizabethan England by Ian Mortimer
Time Traveller's Guide to Elizabethan England by Ian Mortimer
Medieval Intrigue by Ian Mortimer
1415  - Henry V's Year of Glory by Ian Mortimer
Greatest Traitor by Ian Mortimer
Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England by Ian Mortimer
Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England by Ian Mortimer
Perfect King by Ian Mortimer
Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England by Ian Mortimer
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close