Following the Equator by Mark Twain
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Following the Equator
By Mark Twain

Following the Equator

By (author) See other recent books by Mark Twain
Introduction by Anthony Brandt See other recent books by Anthony Brandt
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $26.64
Your Price: $23.98 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.66! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.20 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Following the Equator by Mark Twain

Book Description

How I did loath that journey around the world--except the sea-part & India.- Mark Twain, letter to W. D. Howells, 4/2/1899Following The Equator is an account of Mark Twain's round-the-world lecture tour of 1895/96. The book opens in Paris, from which Twain sets out on his journey. In New York, his wife, Olivia, and daughter Clara decide to continue on the tour with Twain. The family sets out from New York accompanied by Major Pond, the tour manager for the North American leg. Following a stop in British Columbia, the travelers set sail on the Pacific Ocean. After avoiding Hawaii due to a cholera epidemic, the ship lands at Suva, part of the Fiji Islands. After a short stay, Twain moves on to Australia, with his first stop in Sydney. Here he spends considerable space telling about Australian history, society, and people. A stop in Wagga-Wagga brings up the story of the Tichborne Claimant. In Melbourne, Twain relates the story of how Olivia once received a letter in which is discussed Twain's death on a lecture tour in Australia. The author makes numerous stops in mining regions of Australia, including Stawell, Ballarat, and Bendigo. In the latter stop, Twain encounters Mr. Blank, the sole member of the Mark Twain Club, of Corrigan Castle, Ireland. He is also the man who wrote the letter to Olivia about Twain's death. The travelers next stop briefly at Hobart, the capital of Tasmania, and then move on to several towns in New Zealand. In Nelson, the group learns of the Maungatapu Murders, the sole event of historical importance to occur in the town. After a quick stop in Auckland, the capital, Twain visits Wanganui, where the Maori people and culture are discussed. The partyreturns to Australia to spend Christmas in Melbourne and New Year's at Adelaide, before setting sail for Ceylon, India. The first stop in India is Bombay, which Twain finds to be a fabulous city of great contradictions: great wealth and extreme poverty, ornate palaces and ramshackle hovels. Twain gives a lengthy description of his interesting experiences while taking in Bombay, including a religious ceremony, the wedding of a 12-year-old girl, and a murder trial. The party takes the train to Baroda, where Twain rides an elephant. A longer train ride to Allahabad - the City of God - follows, where a religious ceremony is being held. Next stop is Benares, an important religious center, where they take a cruise on the Ganges. The journey through India continues, with stops in Calcutta, Darjeeling, and numerous other cities. At this point, Twain relates the history of the Great Mutiny of 1857, in which the Indian people revolted against the British. Upon leaving India, the party heads for Durban, South Africa, after a brief stop at Mauritius and Mozambique. Brief stops at Johannesburg, Cape Town, and other towns round out the relatively brief South Africa portion of the book. The lecture tour here ends, and the travellers head back to Southampton, England.The personalities of the ship's crew and passengers, the poetry of Australian place-names, and the success of women's suffrage in New Zealand, among other topics, are the focus of his wry humor and redoubtable powers of observation. Following the Equator is an evocative and highly unique American portrait of nineteenth-century travel and customs.

Buy Following the Equator book by Mark Twain from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780792238768
ISBN-10: 0792238761
Format: Paperback
(226mm x 152mm x 32mm)
Pages: 472
Imprint: National Geographic Books
Publisher: National Geographic Books
Publish Date: 2-Dec-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Mark Twain


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Following the Equator book by Mark Twain and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Mark Twain close
Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
Classics to Color: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Collected Nonfiction, Volume 1 by Mark Twain
Collected Nonfiction, Volume 2 by Mark Twain
Collected Nonfiction by Mark Twain
Collected Nonfiction by Mark Twain
Oxford Children's Classics: the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Is Shakespeare Dead? by Mark Twain
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Pudd'nhead Wilson and Those Extraordinary Twins (1894) by Mark Twain
Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Wit and Wisdom of Mark Twain by Mark Twain
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Stolen White Elephant by Mark Twain
Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
Mysterious Stranger by Mark Twain
Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
Autobiography of Mark Twain by Mark Twain
Recent books by Anthony Brandt close
Following the Equator by Anthony Brandt
Pushcart Book of Essays by Anthony Brandt
Man Who Ate His Boots by Anthony Brandt
» close