Four-Chambered Heart by Anais Nin
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Four-Chambered Heart
By Anais Nin

The Four-Chambered Heart

The Four-Chambered Heart Vol III

By (author) See other recent books by Anais Nin
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $33.81
Your Price: $30.43 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.38! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.52 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Four-Chambered Heart by Anais Nin

Book Description

"The Four-Chambered Heart," Anais Nin's 1950 novel, recounts the real-life affair she conducted with cafe guitarist Gonzalo More in 1936. Nin and More rented a house-boat on the Seine, and under the pervading influence of the boat's watchman and More's wife Helba, developed a relationship. More named the boat "Nanankepichu," meaning "not really a home." In the novel, which Nin drew from her experiences on the boat, the characters are clearly based. Djuna is an embodiment of Nin herself. A young dancer in search of fulfillment, she encapsulates all that the author was striving for at that time. The character of Djuna features in other novels, perhaps weaving a directly autobiographical thread into Nin's fiction. The gypsy musician, Rango, is therefore More, and his invalid wife is Zora. The old watchman is present as a force which, along with Zora, works against the lovers in their quest for happiness. Nin's main concern is the "outside," and how it affects the "interior." Water is a cleverly used theme. I have no great fear of depths, says Djuna, and a great fear of shallow living. Rango and Djuna's relationship is, in effect, their effort to remain afloat. Often, Nin employs a stream of consciousness, especially in her flowing analyses of love, life and music, which continues the water image. Anais Nin's writing is typically exquisite in its detail and texture. She describes Paris: its "black lacquered cobblestones" and "silver filigree trees." The "humid scarfs of fog" on the river, and "the sharp incense of roasted chestnuts" reveal their source through their reality: Nin's personal experience."

Buy Four-Chambered Heart book by Anais Nin from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780804001212
ISBN-10: 0804001219
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 139mm x 14mm)
Pages: 187
Imprint: Ohio University Press
Publisher: Ohio University Press
Publish Date: 1-Jan-1959
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author Anais Nin

Novel of the Future by Anais Nin Novel of the Future, Paperback (July 2014)

Explores the act of creation - in literature, film, art, and dance - to arrive at a new synthesis for the young artist struggling against the sterility, formlessness, and spiritual bankruptcy afflicting much of modern fiction.

» View all books by Anais Nin


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Four-Chambered Heart book by Anais Nin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Anais Nin

Anais Nin (1903 1977) was one of the most unique literary figures of this century. As a novelist she was distinctly catalytic, and her life-long diary resembles no other in the history of letters. Her books have been translated in a dozen languages."

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Anais Nin close
Mirages by Anais Nin
Seduction of the Minotaur by Anais Nin
Novel of the Future by Anais Nin
Incest by Anais Nin
Under a Glass Bell by Anais Nin
Spy in the House of Love by Anais Nin
Spy in the House of Love by Anais Nin
Delta of Venus by Anais Nin
Nearer the Moon by Anais Nin
Little Birds by Anais Nin
Henry and June by Anais Nin
Spy in the House of Love by Anais Nin
Delta of Venus by Anais Nin
Art and Artist by Anais Nin
Diary of Anais Nin V02 1934-1939 by Anais Nin
Diary of Anais Nin V04 1944-1947 by Anais Nin
In Favor of the Sensitive Man and Other Essays by Anais Nin
Cities of the Interior by Anais Nin
Winter of Artifice by Anais Nin
Ladders to Fire by Anais Nin
» close