Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Gardens of the Dead
By William Brodrick

The Gardens of the Dead

By (author) See other recent books by William Brodrick
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $49.99
Your Price: $44.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.25 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick

Book Description

Elizabeth Glendinning QC has lost faith in the legal system to which she has given her life. In an attempt to restore it, she has secretly devised a scheme to bring a guilty man back to court -- Graham Riley, whom she had successfully defended some ten years previously. As part of an elaborate contingency plan, Elizabeth leaves the unsuspecting Anselm with a key to a safety deposit box, to be opened in the event of her death. Three weeks later she is found dead in the East End of London. Once the box has been opened, a chain of events is triggered as if from beyond the grave, and Anselm is led to fulfil what Elizabeth has begun. THE GARDENS OF THE DEAD is the second, thrilling outing for William Broderick's detective Anselm.

Buy Gardens of the Dead book by William Brodrick from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780316724661
ISBN-10: 0316724661
Format: Hardback
(240mm x 161mm x 29mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Little, Brown & Company
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Publish Date: 16-Mar-2006
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author William Brodrick

Silent Ones by William Brodrick Silent Ones, Paperback (August 2016)

The latest in CWA Gold dagger winner William Brodrick's much loved Father Anselm series - and Anselm faces the most difficult and troubling case of his life.

Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick Discourtesy of Death, Hardback (July 2016)

An ingenious, gripping thriller for readers of P.D. James and William Boyd

Day of the Lie by William Brodrick Day of the Lie, Paperback (February 2013)

The haunting, utterly magnificent new novel from the bestselling author of The Sixth Lamentation (a Richard & Judy selection) and A Whispered Name (winner of the CWA Gold Dagger).

Whispered Name by William Brodrick Whispered Name, Paperback (July 2009)

A hugely moving and intelligent novel from the bestselling author of The Sixth Lamentation and The Gardens of the Dead, A Whispered Name reaches into the mysteries of one man's past and casts light on the long shadows war leaves behind.

» View all books by William Brodrick

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » Friar, a former barrister, struggles with the troubled legacy of a dead colleague.Monk-turned-barrister Brodrick's second featuring Father Anselm (The 6th Lamentation, 2003) is that uniquely British brand of thriller: no violence (except in the past, obliquely sketched) and no sex-just a plot as byzantine as an obscure chess gambit and suspense driven largely by threatened exposure of the commonalities lurking beneath class distinctions. When Elizabeth Glendinning, a respected London solicitor, dies suddenly of a congenital heart ailment after visiting a flea market, she's already disseminated a blueprint for the comeuppance of an unsavory client, Graham Riley, whom she once reluctantly defended against a charge of procuring runaway teenagers as prostitutes. Her former co-counsel, Anselm, departed the law for the monastery after his cross-examination of a key witness, George Bradshaw, goaded the latter into fleeing the courtroom, resulting in Riley's acquittal. Now Anselm, per posthumous instructions, seeks former homeless-shelter manager Bradshaw, who departed home for the streets after his son, John, tried to vindicate his father and drowned under suspicious circumstances. The police were unable to pin John's murder on prime suspect Riley, who now operates a marginal salvage business with his long-suffering wife, Nancy. Elizabeth apparently thought she could destroy Riley's reputation by exposing a double set of books, which would somehow facilitate the reopening of the murder case. Or so Anselm and readers suppose throughout the bulk of this book. In meetings on the streets, Elizabeth and Bradshaw had plotted Riley's downfall. Bradshaw, whose short-term memory was impaired after a beating by young toughs, is supposed to deliver to Anselm notebooks on how evil might be undone, and an envelope containing the goods on Riley-but he misplaces them. When Elizabeth's plan for exposing Riley proves faulty, the real, unlikely history linking Elizabeth, Bradshaw and Riley emerges. Only the compelling sway exerted by Brodrick's characters and language render this unwieldy, non-sinister and at times maddeningly non-cohesive narrative impossible to put down.Justice and gratification delayed, but not denied. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Gardens of the Dead book by William Brodrick and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - William Brodrick

Bill Brodrick was a Franciscan friar before leaving the order to become a practising barrister.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by William Brodrick close
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Day of the Lie by William Brodrick
Whispered Name by William Brodrick
Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick
Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick
Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close