Gay Baby Boom by Suzanne Johnson
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Gay Baby Boom
By Suzanne Johnson

The Gay Baby Boom

The Psychology of Gay Parenthood

By (author) See other recent books by Suzanne Johnson See other recent books by Elizabeth O'Connor
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $43.95
Your Price: $39.56 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.39! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.98 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days



Gay Baby Boom by Suzanne Johnson

Book Description

The gay and lesbian community is experiencing a baby boom. Advances in gay rights coupled with increased availability of alternative reproduction techniques have led to an unprecedented number of openly gay and lesbian parents. Estimates are that between 6 and 14 million children in the United States are being raised by at least one parent who is gay. Yet, very little is known about how gay or lesbian headed families function, or whether they differ in any relevant ways from families headed by straight parents. Written by two developmental psychologists, The Gay Baby Boom reports the findings of The Gay and Lesbian Family Study, the largest national assessment of gay and lesbian headed families. By asking participants detailed questions about the way they parent, the authors are able to describe for the first time exactly what takes place within gay and lesbian headed families across the county. Traditional research has tended to assume that there is something uniquely different and potentially psychologically damaging about children being raised by gays. The authors draw on their data to show these fears unfounded.

Buy Gay Baby Boom book by Suzanne Johnson from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780814742617
ISBN-10: 0814742610
Format: Paperback
(5830mm x 3895mm x 13mm)
Pages: 193
Imprint: New York University Press
Publisher: New York University Press
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Suzanne Johnson

Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson Elysian Fields, Paperback (July 2014)

The third novel in the sensational urban fantasy series for fans of Charlaine Harris and Jim Butcher.

River Road by Suzanne Johnson River Road, Paperback (August 2013)

The sensational new urban fantasy series that's bound to be 'a sure hit with fans of Charlaine Harris and Jim Butcher' - Jeri Smith-Ready, award-winning author of the SHADE and WVMP RADIO series

» View all books by Suzanne Johnson

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Gay Baby Boom book by Suzanne Johnson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Suzanne Johnson

Suzanne Johnson is Associate Professor of Psychology at Dowling College. Elizabeth O'Connor has taught as an adjunct faculty member teaching in social and developmental psychology at Dowling College and St. Joseph's College in the psychology and education departments.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Suzanne Johnson close
Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson
Pirate's Alley by Suzanne Johnson
Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson
Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson
Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson
River Road by Suzanne Johnson
Royal Street by Suzanne Johnson
Royal Street by Suzanne Johnson
»
Recent books by Elizabeth O'Connor close
Gay Baby Boom by Elizabeth O'Connor
For Lesbian Parents by Elizabeth O'Connor
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close