Grace Notes by Bernard MacLaverty
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Grace Notes
By Bernard MacLaverty

Grace Notes

By (author) See other recent books by Bernard MacLaverty
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $18.38
Your Price: $16.54 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.84! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.83 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Grace Notes by Bernard MacLaverty

Book Awards

  • Shortlisted for Booker Prize for Fiction 1997.
  • Shortlisted for Whitbread Book Awards: Novel Category 1997.

Book Description

Returning to Belfast after a long absense, to attend her father's funeral. Catherine McKenna - a young composer - remembers exactly why she left: the claustrophobic intimacies of the Catholic enclave, her fastidious, nagging mother, and the pervading tensions of a city at war with itself. She remembers a more innocent time, when the Loyalists Lambeg drums sounded mysterious and exciting; she remembers her shattered relationship with the drunken, violent Dave, she remembers the child she had with him, waiting back in Glasgow. This is a novel, about coming to terms with the past and the healing power of music, "Grace Notes" is a master story-teller's triumphant return to the long form: a powerful lyrical novel of great distinction.

Buy Grace Notes book by Bernard MacLaverty from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099778011
ISBN-10: 0099778017
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 18mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 30-Apr-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Bernard MacLaverty

Collected Stories by Bernard MacLaverty Collected Stories, Paperback (October 2014)

Melding his native Irish sensibilities to those of his adopted west-coast Scotland, this book includes tales that attend to life's big events: love and loss, separation and violence, death and betrayal.

Walking the Dog by Bernard MacLaverty Walking the Dog, Paperback (September 2012)

A rich collection of short stories by one of Ireland's contemporary literary masters.

Matters of Life and Death by Bernard MacLaverty Matters of Life and Death, Paperback (May 2007)

Beginning with the sudden, nauseating terror of a family caught up in an explosion of shocking sectarian violence and ending with the white-out of an Iowa blizzard and a different kind of fear, this book is about bonds and connections, made and broken, secret and known.

Anatomy School by Bernard MacLaverty Anatomy School, Paperback (August 2003)

A coming-of-age story of a northern Irish boy getting out from under the thumb of mother, church, and country.

» View all books by Bernard MacLaverty


US Kirkus Review » A lyric novel about music and motherhood. Catherine McKenna is an Irish-born pianist and composer whose emotional turbulence sets the tone for a significant part of the story's soft yet visceral verbal music. Catherine's unusually delicate sense of psychic balance is thrown off by two events in particular: the birth of her first child, Anna, and the sudden death of her estranged yet beloved father. Catherine is not married; her mate is a (mostly) lovable drunkard. As an iconoclastic only child who left her family's home in a small town near Belfast for a university education and career in Scotland, the adult Catherine rarely visits or phones her disappointed parents. Her musical career, though, is flourishing, with the BBC broadcasting her work and commissions coming her way at last. Using flashbacks, interior monologues, and dialogue, MacLaverty very gradually creates a complex, dimensional character, until the third-person narrative seems to speak directly to us from Catherine's struggling soul: "It gave Catherine a strange feeling, this invisible cascade of darkness. She felt suffocated by it quilting downwards - whatever it was. This diminuendo of light brought about by something intangible - odourless - invisible." The drawback of MacLaverty's mildly impressionistic approach is the slow, even anticlimactic pace of some scenes, those portraying the domesticity of Catherine's relatively cloistered life, for example, or those, especially, involving her father's death, which open the story. Catherine's character, as it emerges from the fragmentary narrative, tends to overshadow everyone else in a novel guided less by "story" than by musical tides and perturbations. It's clear that MacLaverty (Walking the Dog, 1995, etc.) has tried to do something rather difficult: to suggest the interior life of an artist struggling to balance the urgent demands of creating music and the equally pressing demands of life. Very often, he succeeds in this complex portrait of a woman who is, first and foremost, an artist. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Grace Notes book by Bernard MacLaverty and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Bernard MacLaverty

Bernard MacLaverty lives in Glasgow. This is his fifth novel. He has written five collections of stories and four other novels, including Grace Notes which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award. He has written versions of his fiction for other media - radio and television plays, screenplays and libretti.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Bernard MacLaverty close
Collected Stories by Bernard MacLaverty
Collected Stories by Bernard MacLaverty
Walking the Dog by Bernard MacLaverty
Matters of Life and Death by Bernard MacLaverty
Anatomy School by Bernard MacLaverty
Anatomy School by Bernard MacLaverty
Anatomy School by Bernard MacLaverty
Cal by Bernard MacLaverty
Lamb by Bernard MacLaverty
Walking the Dog and Other Stories by Bernard MacLaverty
Time to Dance by Bernard MacLaverty
Cal by Bernard MacLaverty
Cal Cal by Bernard MacLaverty
Lamb by Bernard MacLaverty
Best of Bernard MacLaverty by Bernard MacLaverty
Cal by Bernard MacLaverty
» close