Gracefully Insane by Alex Beam
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Gracefully Insane
By Alex Beam

Gracefully Insane

The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital

By (author) See other recent books by Alex Beam
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $26.99
Your Price: $24.29 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.21 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days, Not for Xmas



Gracefully Insane by Alex Beam

Book Description

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. Gracefully Insane, by Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protege whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age. This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's The Bell Jar and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.

Buy Gracefully Insane book by Alex Beam from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781586481612
ISBN-10: 1586481614
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 19mm)
Pages: 296
Imprint: PublicAffairs,U.S.
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 17-Dec-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Alex Beam

Great Idea at the Time by Alex Beam Great Idea at the Time, Paperback (October 2009)

By the author of the Boston Globe #1 bestseller Gracefully Insane: A wry, witty history of an unlikely literary fad, and of American pop culture in the 1950s and early 1960s

» View all books by Alex Beam

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Gracefully Insane book by Alex Beam and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Alex Beam

Alex Beam is a columnist for the Boston Globe and the author of two novels. He has also written for the Atlantic Monthly, Slate and Forbes/FYI. He lives in Newton, Massachusetts with his wife and three sons.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Alex Beam close
Feud by Alex Beam
American Crucifixion by Alex Beam
American Crucifixion by Alex Beam
Great Idea at the Time by Alex Beam
Great Idea at the Time by Alex Beam
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close