House in Fez by Suzanna Clarke
Look inside with Google Book Preview
House in Fez
By Suzanna Clarke

A House in Fez

Building a Life in the Ancient Heart of Morocco

By (author) See other recent books by Suzanna Clarke
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $20.38
Your Price: $18.34 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.04! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.92 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

House in Fez by Suzanna Clarke

Book Description

When Suzanna Clarke and her husband bought a dilapidated house in the Moroccan town of Fez, their friends thought they were mad. Located in a maze of donkey-trod alleyways, the house - a traditional riad - was beautiful but in desperate need of repair. Walls were in danger of collapse, the plumbing non-existent. While neither Suzanna nor her husband spoke Arabic, and had only a smattering of French, they were determined to restore the building to its original splendour, using only traditional craftsmen and handmade materials. But they soon found that trying to do business in Fez was like being transported back several centuries in time and so began the remarkable experience that veered between frustration, hilarity and moments of pure exhilaration. But restoring the riad was only part of their immersion in the rich and colourful life of this ancient city."A House in Fez" is a journey into Moroccan culture, revealing its day-to-day rhythms, its customs and festivals; its history, Islam, and Sufi rituals; the lore of djinns and spirits; the vibrant life-filled market places and the irresistible Moroccan cuisine. And above all, into the lives of the people - warm, friendly, and hospitable. Beautifully descriptive and infused with an extraordinary sense of place, this is a compelling account of one couple's adventures in ancient Morocco.

Buy House in Fez book by Suzanna Clarke from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780091925222
ISBN-10: 0091925223
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 126mm x 20mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Ebury Press
Publisher: Ebury Publishing
Publish Date: 1-May-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Suzanna Clarke

House in Fez by Suzanna Clarke House in Fez, Paperback / softback

In the tradition of "Eat, Pray, Love" and "A Year in Provence" comes a poignantly told, gorgeously illustrated story of setting up house in Morocco. 8 pages of full-color photos.

» View all books by Suzanna Clarke


US Kirkus Review » An ambitious Australian couple renovates a crumbling Moroccan house.Tired of what they saw as the soulless homogeneity of their native Brisbane, Australian newspaper editor Clarke and her husband Sandy became entranced by the exotic prospect of securing a spacious home with a garden in Fez. Early in their spiritual search for domestic nirvana, they encountered the ominous Arabic term inshallah, "God willing," the true implications of which manifested themselves only later. Everything in Morocco, the couple discovered, proceeded at a tortoise-like pace, as though everyone was waiting for the hand of God to intervene in even the smallest transaction. In a city barely grazed by Western-style development - many Fez residents lived without running water - Clarke and her husband pursued the uphill task of hiring dependable, efficient local contractors to rebuild the long-neglected ancient abode they purchased. Professional obligations in Australia led them to set a time limit of five months on the process, a deadline that adds a mild "race against time" element to a narrative unsurprisingly short on drama - though the microscopic detailing of the home-rebuilding process will undoubtedly appeal to participants in the current renovation craze. The Australians' demanding Western conception of efficient work standards rubbed against the ingrained deliberateness of Moroccan contractors and laborers, some of them decidedly shifty. The constant haggling over material costs and workers' hourly pay occasionally brought the normally patient author to the brink of scrapping the whole project in frustration. Continent-hopping Clarke had neighborly intentions, but she and her husband remained slightly aloof from a hyper-religious Muslim society still skeptical of encroaching westernization. Nonetheless, she offers some incidental but valuable cultural insights into Morocco's social history and post-millennial life.Offers rueful proof that successfully joining an authentic Middle Eastern culture requires more than writing checks and giving orders. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about House in Fez book by Suzanna Clarke and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Suzanna Clarke

Suzanna Clarke has worked as a photojournalist for more than two decades, contributing to national and international newspapers, magazines and books. Currently, she is the arts editor of a major Australian newspaper. Born in New Zealand, she grew up in several parts of Australia. In her twenties she lived in a Welsh commune, an Amsterdam squat and a Buddhist monastery in Nepal. With her husband, she divides her time between their homes in Brisbane, Australia and Fez, Morocco.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Suzanna Clarke close
House in Fez by Suzanna Clarke
» close