House of Lyall by Doris Davidson
Look inside with Google Book Preview
House of Lyall
By Doris Davidson

House of Lyall

By (author) See other recent books by Doris Davidson
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $21.95
Your Price: $19.76 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.20! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.99 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

House of Lyall by Doris Davidson

Book Description

Marion Cheyne is young, poor and ambitious. Her humble village roots and poorly paid job offer few opportunities and Marion feels trapped in a dead-end existence. So when an unexpected chance to escape presents itself, Marion grabs it, ignoring the moral implications of her actions, and sets out on a new life far away in Aberdeen. Years later and the struggling servant girl Marion has been transformed into Marianne, wife of the heir to Castle Lyall, and every inch the lady of the glen. More a business arrangement than a love match, Marianne's commitment to her role and to the name of Lyall is total, and as family, friends and world wars come and go, she will stop at nothing to protect her hard-won position. But the many secrets of her past refuse to stay safely buried. Nothing in the small community of the glen can remain hidden forever...

Buy House of Lyall book by Doris Davidson from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781841584720
ISBN-10: 184158472X
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 35mm)
Pages: 558
Imprint: Birlinn Ltd
Publisher: Birlinn General
Publish Date: 15-May-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Doris Davidson

Duplicity and Other Stories by Doris Davidson Duplicity and Other Stories, Paperback (August 2009)

A novella and collection of short stories by Scotland's favourite novelist.

Three Kings by Doris Davidson Three Kings, Paperback (August 2009)

Forced into service at the age of fourteen, orphan Katie Mair must enter the bleak and cut off household, Howe of Denty, that turns out to be not as respectable as it first appears. One desperate act of defence from Katie is to a start a chain of despair, passion and revenge.

Monday Girl by Doris Davidson Monday Girl, Paperback (May 2007)

After the death of her father, 10-year-old Renee and her mother are forced to open up their Aberdeen home to two lodgers. An impressionable and romantic child, Renee grows up weaving romantic fantasies around both men, firstly the dependable Jack and later the charming Fergus, who breaks her heart.

Time Shall Reap by Doris Davidson Time Shall Reap, Paperback (May 2007)

It is 1915, and Elspeth Gray is young, unmarried, heavily pregnant and destitute in a strange city. Helen Watson and her husband, themselves expecting a baby, gladly give the desperate girl a home. After Elspeth's son is born, however, Helen tragically loses her own child, and in her traumatised state transposes the two births in her mind.

» View all books by Doris Davidson


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about House of Lyall book by Doris Davidson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Doris Davidson

Doris Davidson was born in Aberdeen and has lived there all her life. After a career as a primary school teacher she began to write and has subsequently become one of Scotland's best-loved romantic novelists. Her books include) The Road to Rowanbrae (1991), Time Shall Reap (1993), Waters of the Heart (1994), Three Kings (1996), Girl with the Creel (1997), and Back of Beyond (2002).

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Doris Davidson close
Duplicity and Other Stories by Doris Davidson
Three Kings by Doris Davidson
Monday Girl by Doris Davidson
Time Shall Reap by Doris Davidson
Cousins at War by Doris Davidson
» close