How Chess Games are Won and Lost by Lars Bo Hansen
Look inside with Google Book Preview
How Chess Games are Won and Lost
By Lars Bo Hansen

How Chess Games are Won and Lost

By (author) See other recent books by Lars Bo Hansen
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $56.97
Your Price: $51.27 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.56 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

How Chess Games are Won and Lost by Lars Bo Hansen

Book Description

Traditionally, chess games have been divided into three stages - opening, middlegame and endgame - and general principles presented for how to handle each stage. All chess-players will be well aware that these principles all too frequently fail to help in their selection of the best move. In this important work, Lars Bo Hansen, grandmaster and professional educator, presents chess as a game of five phases, and explains the do's and don'ts in each: * the opening * the transition to the early middlegame * the middlegame * strategic endgames * technical endgames * With a wealth of examples from both his own practice and that of his colleagues, Hansen discusses the typical mistakes and pitfalls, and shows how to handle the subtleties unique to each stage. He also advises on how to work on your chess in each aspect of the game. Of special value is his explanation of how to study typical middlegames, and that middlegame preparation - a neglected area for most players - is both possible and necessary.

Buy How Chess Games are Won and Lost book by Lars Bo Hansen from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781906454012
ISBN-10: 1906454019
Format: Paperback
(248mm x 172mm x 20mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Gambit Publications Ltd
Publisher: Gambit Publications Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Lars Bo Hansen

Secrets of Chess Endgame Strategy by Lars Bo Hansen Secrets of Chess Endgame Strategy, Paperback (March 2006)

Drawing on the work "Foundations of Chess Strategy", this book provides a treatise on how players can maximize practical problems for their opponents, while emphasizing the strengths of their own position. It helps chess-players to focus on key elements in the position, and develop a better understanding of which pieces need to be exchanged.

» View all books by Lars Bo Hansen


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about How Chess Games are Won and Lost book by Lars Bo Hansen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Lars Bo Hansen

Lars Bo Hansen is a well-known grandmaster from Denmark. He has won the Danish Championship on two occasions, and represented his country in four olympiads, winning a bronze medal for his individual performance in 1990. His many tournament victories include first prize in the strong Copenhagen Open in both 1997 and 2000. Away from the board, he teaches and lectures on business studies, with a particular focus on marketing, organization and strategy.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Lars Bo Hansen close
Opening Originals by Lars Bo Hansen
Improve Your Chess - by Learning from the Champions by Lars Bo Hansen
Secrets of Chess Endgame Strategy by Lars Bo Hansen
Foundations of Chess Strategy by Lars Bo Hansen
» close