I'm Hungry, Daddy by Cliff Nichols
Look inside with Google Book Preview
I'm Hungry, Daddy
By Cliff Nichols

I'm Hungry, Daddy

A True Story

By (author) See other recent books by Cliff Nichols
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.90 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



I'm Hungry, Daddy by Cliff Nichols

Book Description

In the tradition of Don't Let Her See Me Cry and The Long Way Home, a starkly beautiful and inspirational true story of the power of love - and how hope can be found in the darkest places. As a boy growing up in during the Depression, Cliff Nichols watched alcohol rob his mother of her hope, her beauty, her life. And he vowed he'd never touch a drop.Until one night, at the age of nineteen, he said to a mate, 'One beer can't hurt, can it?' By the age of thirty-six Cliff is homeless, shattered and walking skid row. His talents and dreams in ruins, his life has become an endless round of drinks in dingy inner city hotels and flophouses, parks, railway platforms and even gutters. And by his side is his small daughter Helen. The unwavering love of Helen and the loyalty and support of his father sustain Cliff throughout his long and heartbreaking battle with alcohol. Finally, he finds the courage to not only break the cycle of alcoholism but the cycle of his loneliness and fear. As he begins to rebuild his shattered life, Cliff meets a woman whose love brings the healing, inner peace and sense of belonging he has been searching for all his life.

Buy I'm Hungry, Daddy book by Cliff Nichols from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781863253833
ISBN-10: 1863253831
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 129mm x 26mm)
Pages: 344
Imprint: Bantam
Publisher: Transworld Publishers (Division of Random House Australia)
Publish Date: 2-Sep-2002
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...


Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about I'm Hungry, Daddy book by Cliff Nichols and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Cliff Nichols

In his youth Cliff's passion for music was paramount. Starting in the Glebe District Silver Band at the age of seven, Cliff played tenor horn, cornet, trumpet, trombone and piano accordion for Army Bands in Sydney, Tokyo and Brisbane. Cliff found civilian life hard and worked many jobs while trying to survive, including cleaner, labourer, and private detective. Today he lives in Tweed Heads with his wife Dian and children and granchildren.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Cliff Nichols close
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close