Imitative Mind by Andrew N. Meltzoff
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Imitative Mind
By Andrew N. Meltzoff

The Imitative Mind

Development, Evolution and Brain Bases

Edited by See other recent books by Andrew N. Meltzoff See other recent books by Wolfgang Prinz
Series edited by George Butterworth See other recent books by George Butterworth
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $185.00
Your Price: $166.50 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $18.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $8.33 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Imitative Mind by Andrew N. Meltzoff

Book Description

Imitation guides the behaviour of a range of species. Scientific advances in the study of imitation at multiple levels from neurons to behaviour have far-reaching implications for cognitive science, neuroscience, and evolutionary and developmental psychology. This volume, first published in 2002, provides a summary of the research on imitation in both Europe and America, including work on infants, adults, and nonhuman primates, with speculations about robotics. A special feature of the book is that it provides a concrete instance of the links between developmental psychology, neuroscience, and cognitive science. It showcases how an interdisciplinary approach to imitation can illuminate long-standing problems in the brain sciences, including consciousness, self, perception-action coding, theory of mind, and intersubjectivity. The book addresses what it means to be human and how we get that way.

Buy Imitative Mind book by Andrew N. Meltzoff from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521806855
ISBN-10: 0521806852
Format: Hardback
(228mm x 152mm x 24mm)
Pages: 364
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 18-Apr-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Andrew N. Meltzoff

Imitative Mind by Andrew N. Meltzoff Imitative Mind, Paperback (September 2011)

This 2002 volume provides a summary of the research on imitation in both Europe and America.

How Babies Think by Andrew N. Meltzoff How Babies Think, Paperback (July 2001)

A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct.

» View all books by Andrew N. Meltzoff

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Imitative Mind book by Andrew N. Meltzoff and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Andrew N. Meltzoff

Andrew N. Meltzoff studied psychology at Harvard and Oxford (D. Phil. 1976). He has been a full professor at the University of Washington since 1988. In 2000 he was named Director of the UW Center for Mind, Brain and Learning. Meltzoff is the recipient of a National Institute of Health Merit Award for outstanding research. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, and a foreign member of the Norwegian National Academy of Science and Letters. He is the co-author of Words, Thoughts and Theories (1997) and The Scientist in the Crib: What Early Learning Tells Us about the Mind (1999). Wolfgang Prinz studied Psychology, Philosophy and Zoology at the University of Muenster, Germany. He took his Ph.D. in 1970 at the Dept. of Psychology at the University of Bielefeld (1975-1990) and at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich (1990-1998). Since 1990 he is the Director at the Max Planck Institute for Psychological Research, Munich. He has published empirical and theoretical work on perception, action, consciousness and attention as well as on the history of psychology.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Andrew N. Meltzoff close
Imitative Mind by Andrew N. Meltzoff
How Babies Think by Andrew N. Meltzoff
»
Recent books by Wolfgang Prinz close
Action Science by Wolfgang Prinz
Open Minds by Wolfgang Prinz
Imitative Mind by Wolfgang Prinz
Disorders of Volition by Wolfgang Prinz
Voluntary Action by Wolfgang Prinz
Voluntary Action by Wolfgang Prinz
Imitative Mind by Wolfgang Prinz
Common Mechanisms in Perception and Action by Wolfgang Prinz
»
Recent books by George Butterworth close
Context and Cognition by George Butterworth
Michotte's Experimental Phenomenology of Perception by George Butterworth
Principles of Developmental Psychology by George Butterworth
Michotte's Experimental Phenomenology of Perception by George Butterworth
Imitation in Infancy by George Butterworth
Half a Brain is Enough by George Butterworth
Learning to Read and Write by George Butterworth
Children's Understanding of Biology and Health by George Butterworth
Onset of Language by George Butterworth
Imitative Mind by George Butterworth
Developmental Psychology by George Butterworth
Fondamenti DI Psicologia Dello Sviluppo by George Butterworth
Principles of Developmental Psychology by George Butterworth
Principles of Developmental Psychology by George Butterworth
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close