In the Country of the Young by Lisa Carey
Look inside with Google Book Preview
In the Country of the Young
By Lisa Carey

In the Country of the Young

By (author) See other recent books by Lisa Carey
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $27.91
Your Price: $25.12 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.79! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.26 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



In the Country of the Young by Lisa Carey

Book Description

On a stormy November night in 1848, a ship carrying more than a hundred Irish emigrants ran aground twenty miles off the coast of Maine. Many were saved, but some were not -- including a young girl who died crying out the name of her brother.In the present day, the artist Oisin MacDara lives in self-imposed exile on Tiranogue -- the small island where the shipwrecked Irish settled. The past is Oisin's curse, as memories of the twin sister who died tragically when he was a boy haunt him still.Then on a quiet All Hallows' Eve, a restless spirit is beckoned into his home by a candle flickering in the window: the ghost of the girl whose brief life ended on Tiranogue's shore more than a century earlier. In Oisin's house she seeks comfort and warmth, and a chance at the life that was denied her so long ago.For a lonely man chained by painful memories, nothing will ever be the same again.

Buy In the Country of the Young book by Lisa Carey from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780060937744
ISBN-10: 0060937742
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 136mm x 20mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: HarperCollins
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author Lisa Carey

Stolen Child by Lisa Carey Stolen Child, Paperback (January 2017)

A gothic intrigue, for fans of THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE, THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS and Sarah Waters.

Every Visible Thing by Lisa Carey Every Visible Thing, Paperback / softback (October 2007)

The author of "In the Country of the Young" and "The Mermaids Singing" presents a darkly absorbing, deeply realistic portrait of adolescence and a family that must learn to face its past in order to find a future.

Love in the Asylum by Lisa Carey Love in the Asylum, Paperback (June 2005)

Believing herself to be a hopeless case due to her unending battle with manic depression, children's book writer Alba forges an unlikely relationship with drug addict Oscar and uncovers a century-old story hidden in the library of the rehabilitation institution where they pursue recovery.

» View all books by Lisa Carey

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about In the Country of the Young book by Lisa Carey and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Lisa Carey close
Stolen Child by Lisa Carey
Stolen Child by Lisa Carey
Every Visible Thing by Lisa Carey
Love in the Asylum by Lisa Carey
Mermaids Singing by Lisa Carey
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close