Inspector Calls by J. B. Priestley
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Inspector Calls
By J. B. Priestley

An Inspector Calls

and Other Plays

By (author) See other recent books by J. B. Priestley
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $21.16
Your Price: $19.04 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.12! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.95 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Inspector Calls by J. B. Priestley

Book Description

"An Inspector Calls", first produced in 1946 when society was undergoing sweeping transformations, has recently enjoyed an enormously successful revival. While holding its audience with the gripping tension of a detective thriller, it is also a philosophical play about social conscience and the crumbling of middle class values. "Time and the Conways" and "I Have Been Here Before" belong to Priestley's 'time'plays, in which he explores the idea of precognition and pits fate against free will. "The Linden Tree" also challenges preconceived ideas of history when Professor Linden comes into conflict with his family about how life should be lived after the war.

Buy Inspector Calls book by J. B. Priestley from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780141185354
ISBN-10: 014118535X
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 17mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 29-Mar-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author J. B. Priestley

Roundabout by J. B. Priestley Roundabout, Paperback (August 2016)

The Roundabout is a funny, touching, highly perceptive look at an England in the 1930s, when it seemed, just possibly, as if the social order might be changing.

Grumbling at Large by J. B. Priestley Grumbling at Large, Hardback (August 2016)

A delightful and unusual selection of Priestley's essays, drawing on five decades of his writing.

Tom Moore's Diary by J. B. Priestley Tom Moore's Diary, Paperback (January 2015)

Originally published in 1925, this book contains the edited diary of Tom Moore, the Irish songwriter and close friend of Lord Byron.

Priestley: Plays Four by J. B. Priestley Priestley: Plays Four, Paperback (February 2013)

Two comic plays by one of Britain's seminal playwrights, that show another side to the writer of Dangerous Corner and An Inspector Calls.

» View all books by J. B. Priestley


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Inspector Calls book by J. B. Priestley and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - J. B. Priestley

J.B. Priestley, the son of a schoolmaster, was born in Bradford in 1894. After leaving Belle Vue High School, he spent some time as a junior clerk in a wool office. (A lively account of his life at this period may be found in his volume of reminiscences, Margin Released.) He joined the army in 1914, and in 1919, on receiving an ox-officers' grant, went to Trinity Hall, Cambridge. In 1922, after refusing several academic posts, and having already published one book and contributed critical articles and essays to various reviews, he went to London. There he soon made a reputation as an essayist and critic. he began writing novels, and with his third and fourth novels, The Good Companions and Angel Pavement, he scored a great success and established an international reputation. This was enlarged by the plays he wrote in the 1930s and 1940s, some of these, notably Dangerous Corner, Time and the Conways and An Inspector Calls, having been translated and produced all over the world. During the Second World War he was exceedingly popular as a broadcaster. Since the war his most important novels have been Bright Day, Festival at Farbridge, Lost Empires and The Image Men, and his more ambitious literary and social criticism can be found in Literature and Western Man, Man and Time and Journey Down a Rainbow, which he wrote with his wife, Jacquetta Hawkes, a distinguished archaeologist and a well-established writer herself. It was in this last book that Priestley coined the term 'Admass', now in common use. Among his latest books are Victoria's Heydey (1972), Over the Long High Wall (1972), The English (1973), Outcries and Asides, a collection of essays (1974), A Visit to New Zealand (1974), The Carfitt Crisis (1975), Particular Pleasures (1975), Found, Lost, Found, or the English Way of Life (1976), The Happy Dream (1976), English Humour (1976) and an autobiography, Instead of the Trees (1977). In 1977 J. B. Priestley received the Order of merit. He died in 1984.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by J. B. Priestley close
Roundabout by J. B. Priestley
Grumbling at Large by J. B. Priestley
Tom Moore's Diary by J. B. Priestley
Priestley: Plays Four by J. B. Priestley
Cornelius by J. B. Priestley
J.B. Priestley: Plays Three by J. B. Priestley
Lost Empires by J. B. Priestley
Inspector Calls the Graphic Novel by J. B. Priestley
Inspector Calls the Graphic Novel by J. B. Priestley
When We Are Married by J. B. Priestley
Art of the Dramatist by J. B. Priestley
Priestley: Plays One by J. B. Priestley
Eden End by J. B. Priestley
Dangerous Corner by J. B. Priestley
Johnson Over Jordan by J. B. Priestley
Inspector Calls by J. B. Priestley
» close