Internal Combustion by Joyce Maynard
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Internal Combustion
By Joyce Maynard

Internal Combustion

The Story of a Marriage and a Murder in the Motor City

By (author) See other recent books by Joyce Maynard
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...



Internal Combustion by Joyce Maynard

Book Description

On Mother's Day night, 2004, award-winning fourth grade teacher Nancy Seaman left the Tudor home she shared with her husband of thirty two years in the gated community of Farmington Hills, near Detroit, Michigan, and drove in a driving rain storm to Home Depot, to purchase a hatchet. Three days later, police discovered the mutilated body of Bob Seaman - a successful auto industry engineer, softball coach and passionate collector of vintage Mustangs - in the back of the family's Ford Explorer. As the shackles were placed on her wrists, Nancy Seaman asserted that her husband had been beating her, and she'd killed him in self-defense. At her trial, two radically different stories emerged. One of the couple's sons, Greg, testified that his father had been abusing his mother for years. The other, Jeff, testified for the prosecution, charging his mother as a cold blooded killer. Joyce Maynard's chilling work delves beyond the events of the crime itself, to explore the lives of an American family who seemed to have everything. Her exploration of the story led to a year's research in suburban Detroit - but the story she found there will take the reader to the Depression-era farm country of Illinois, the working class neighborhoods of the auto industry in its heyday and even, surprisingly, to a Baptist church in burned-out downtown Detroit. Along the way we meet a Transylvanian forensic pathologist, a beautiful young prosecutor, an old-school police chief, a television news crew hungry for ratings, the softball scorekeeper mom accused of carrying on an affair with the murdered man, and her two shell shocked teenagers, still reeling from the death of their beloved coach, and a mother who has to tell her daughter why her favorite teacher won't be in school any more. As in Joyce Maynard's previous books - including To Die For, based on a true crime, and her best selling memoir, At Home in the World - Joyce Maynard's themes here involve family secrets, the deep fissures that lie below the surface of the glittering exteriors, and the deep, potentially fatal, fissures in the American Dream.

Buy Internal Combustion book by Joyce Maynard from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780470223567
ISBN-10: 0470223561
Classification: Crime & criminology
Format: Paperback (220mm x 144mm x 24mm)
Pages: 496
Imprint: John Wiley & Sons Ltd
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 5-Feb-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Hostile Seas by JL Savidge Hostile Seas by JL Savidge

Set in 2008, "Hostile Seas" is a personal account of life on board Canadian naval ship HMCS "Ville de Quebec" as the crew attempts to escort pirate-menaced cargo ships carrying World Food Programme aid to Mogadishu."

Essentials of Criminal Justice by John Worrall Essentials of Criminal Justice by John Worrall

Are you an unsuspecting "victim" of the "CSI effect"? This book equips you with an understanding of the modern criminal justice system.

Curious Habits of Dr. Adams by Jane Robins Curious Habits of Dr. Adams by Jane Robins

Perfect for fans of Kate Summerscale, this is the chilling true tale of Dr John Bodkin Adams, the family doctor suspected of murdering 160 of his patients in 1950s Eastbourne.

Internet Police by Nate Anderson Internet Police by Nate Anderson

Chaos and order clash in this riveting exploration of crime and punishment on the Internet.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Joyce Maynard


Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Internal Combustion book by Joyce Maynard and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Joyce Maynard

Joyce Maynard is the author of several celebrated books, including the novels Baby Love and To Die For, which was made into a major motion picture starring Nicole Kidman, and the memoir At Home in the World. She has been a reporter for the New York Times, a syndicated columnist and commentator on NPR's All Things Considered, and a contributor to O, The Oprah Magazine, More, Redbook, Vanity Fair, and many other publications.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Joyce Maynard close
After Her by Joyce Maynard
To Die for by Joyce Maynard
Labor Day by Joyce Maynard
After Her by Joyce Maynard
At Home in the World by Joyce Maynard
After Her by Joyce Maynard
After Her by Joyce Maynard
Good Daughters by Joyce Maynard
Labor Day by Joyce Maynard
Labor Day by Joyce Maynard
Usual Rules by Joyce Maynard
Where Love Goes by Joyce Maynard
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close