Kith and Kin by Stevie Davies
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Kith and Kin
By Stevie Davies

Kith and Kin

By (author) See other recent books by Stevie Davies
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $39.99
Your Price: $35.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.80 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Kith and Kin by Stevie Davies

Book Description

Mara and Frankie are cousins and best friends, growing up in the stifling atmosphere of Swansea in the 1950s, amid the tight knot of an extended family that thrives on gossip, petty feuds and innuendo.Inseparable as children, the two girls develop a strange co-dependent relationship in which love, jealousy, hate and rivalry intermingle, especially when both develop an attachment to their cousin Aaron. Mara is shy and conventional whilst Frankie is effusive but incredibly needy - an emotional hunger that is accentuated when her father dies at an early age and her mother remarries. Their relationship becomes even more precarious as they reach adolescence in the heady atmosphere of the 60s - a decade in which notions of family and kinship are overturned. Together they are drawn to the idealism of 'free love' and social revolution. But the dream turns sour and a bitter battle of wills results. Years later, Mara sees a nostalgic television film that includes a clip of Frankie in her youth and this serves as a springboard to her past, forcing her to confront unanswered questions about her cousin's death. Reminiscent of Kate Atkinson's BEHIND THE SCENES AT THE MUSEUM, this is a powerful exploration of friendship and of one generation's ultimately destructive quest for freedom.

Buy Kith and Kin book by Stevie Davies from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780297847540
ISBN-10: 0297847546
Format: Hardback
(226mm x 149mm x 31mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date: 12-Feb-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Stevie Davies

Equivocator by Stevie Davies Equivocator, Hardback (April 2016)

Sebastian has long been haunted by the disappearance of his father, the celebrated travel writer Jack Messenger. When the the enigmatic Rhys Salvatore re-emerges and throws all Sebastian thinks he knows about his father into doubt, the son is forced to ponder: how does Salvatore know Sebastian, and what are his connections to Jack Messenger?

Awakening by Stevie Davies Awakening, Paperback (December 2014)

Wiltshire 1860: One year after Darwin's explosive publication of The Origin of Species, sisters Anna and Beatrice Pentecost awaken to a world shattered by science, radicalism and the stirrings of feminist rebellion; a world of charismatic religious movements, Spiritualist seances, bitter loss and medical trauma.

Jane Eyre by Stevie Davies Jane Eyre, Hardback (November 2008)

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity.

Eyrie by Stevie Davies Eyrie, Paperback (February 2008)

An ex-Communist, a Welsh radical, and a mother on the run from domesticity - the new book from prize-winning novelist Stevie Davis will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Ali Smith

» View all books by Stevie Davies


UK Kirkus Review » In middle age, and with a fatherless grown up daughter, Mara returns to her home in South Wales. Her reminiscences are prompted by a television film of the Hippie Sixties, which features herself and her cousins Frankie and Aaron. Gradually memories are unfolded. She recalls the cruel death from lung disease of Frankie's father and the cousins' rebellion against the traditional values of their strait-laced families. But it doesn't stop there. Mara has been too close to both her cousins and feels driven to relive their story. The "commune" where all is free love and cannabis collapses. Under the leadership of the interloper, George, violence, hard drugs, rape and suicide take over. Mara and Aaron are powerless to intervene. Characters are realistically drawn in this disturbing book with a posse of arguing Uncles and Aunts. Twists of plot keep the reader guessing. What really happened to Frankie? Read right through to the end to find out. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Kith and Kin book by Stevie Davies and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Stevie Davies

Stevie Davies is the Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow at Swansea University and is also a novelist, historian and literary critic. She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Stevie Davies close
Equivocator by Stevie Davies
Awakening by Stevie Davies
Jane Eyre by Stevie Davies
Eyrie by Stevie Davies
Eyrie by Stevie Davies
Jane Eyre by Stevie Davies
Four Dreamers and Emily by Stevie Davies
Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Stevie Davies
Bronte Sisters by Stevie Davies
» close