Lancashire Lass by Anna Jacobs
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Lancashire Lass
By Anna Jacobs

Lancashire Lass

By (author) See other recent books by Anna Jacobs
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...



Lancashire Lass by Anna Jacobs

Book Description

Seventeen-year-old Liza is happy working as a lady's maid - until her employers decide to emigrate and her father makes up his mind that she is to wed an older widower whom she detests. Determined to avoid a loveless marriage, Liza plans to run away, and when the widower rapes her in order to force her to marry him, she flees back to the family for whom she worked, and they all set out on the long voyage to Australia. On board ship Liza realises she has fallen pregnant, and that even if she can survive the journey, the demanding life of a settler in 1850s Western Australia will be made even harder by an illegitimate child. But Liza is to find that in addition to deprivation of the worst sort, Australia will offer her opportunities she could never have dreamt of back home in Lancashire.

Buy Lancashire Lass book by Anna Jacobs from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780340748275
ISBN-10: 0340748273
Classification: Sagas , Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (178mm x 113mm x 27mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

For a Father's Pride by Diane Allen For a Father's Pride by Diane Allen

For a Father's Pride is a heartbreaking story of love and loss from bestselling saga author, Diane Allen.

Ashes in the Wind by Christopher Bland Ashes in the Wind by Christopher Bland

An epic story, interweaving the destinies of two Irish families set against the backdrop of the turbulent twentieth century.

Like Mother, Like Daughter by Maggie Hope Like Mother, Like Daughter by Maggie Hope

Sadie Raine has a bad reputation... When she runs off with a Canadian airman, her two young daughters are left behind to pick up the pieces. But Cath Raine is determined to rise above the local gossips. Only, when she meets the upper-class Jack on the grounds of his father's estate, she is tempted by the thought of an affair.

For Better for Worse by Pam Weaver For Better for Worse by Pam Weaver

A dramatic read from Sunday Times bestseller, Pam Weaver, filled with bigamy, scandal and friendships which bring hope in the darkness. The perfect read for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Anna Jacobs

In Search of Hope by Anna Jacobs In Search of Hope, Hardback (April 2014)

An unexpected inheritance offers Libby Pulford the chance to escape her abusive marriage with her young son Ned. Just as she's beginning to settle into her new life, her troubled past catches up with her. The one person she can turn to for help is her new neighbour, former police detective Joss Atherton. But Joss has troubles of his own.

Winds of Change by Anna Jacobs Winds of Change, Paperback (January 2014)

Miranda Fox has devoted much of her life to caring for her elderly father. After his tragic death, she starts to make plans for her future, funded by the inheritance she is sure will be coming her way, but it seems her arrogant and domineering half-brother has very different ideas...

Trader's Gift by Anna Jacobs Trader's Gift, Paperback (January 2014)

THE TRADER'S GIFT is the fourth novel in Anna Jacobs' wonderfully atmospheric saga series 'The Traders', set in Europe, the Orient and Australia's Swan River Colony.

» View all books by Anna Jacobs

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » In the mid-19th-century Australia was the New Frontier. People were leaving England in droves in search of adventure: younger sons who had disgraced themselves, the very poor seeking a new life, those running away from personal problems - criminals. Liza Docherty is escaping an enforced marriage to a brute, and a sadistic father. At 18, she's full of optimism even though she's carrying a child - the result of a vicious rape. This is her story, and that of a small group of hopefuls from small-town Lancashire; a rags-to-riches story built on courage, cunning, determination and despair, set in Australia's infertile West. Despite the infertility their new country has much to offer anyone prepared to work hard; though it's far from plain-sailing. Life is precarious, death often comes early, and the new settlers must protect themselves and their property against incursion, as well as natural enemies. Liza finds happiness there for a time - but even Australia is not big enough to hide forever - or to keep memories at bay and, given an unexpected opportunity she returns to England, to discover that there are different kinds of cruelty, that helplessness and hard-living are not always the result of poverty and barbarous ignorance, that sophisticated manipulation. Unhappiness can lurk under fine clothes and inside big houses, and soon she must fight the biggest battle of her life.Drama escalates into melodrama in the last few pages of this novel, as Liza makes her final bid for freedom, peace and happiness. A big, robust novel of wide-open spaces, narrow minds, hard physical toil and the suppression of women by loutish men. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lancashire Lass book by Anna Jacobs and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Anna Jacobs

Anna Jacobs grew up in Lancashire and emigrated to Australia in 1973, but loves to return to England regularly to visit her family and soak up the history. She has two grown-up daughters and now lives with her husband in a spacious waterfront home. Often as she writes, dolphins frolic outside the window of her study. Inside, the house is crammed with thousands of books. Anna Jacobs has also written a series of novels set in Lancashire about the Gibson family, which are available as Coronet paperbacks..

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Anna Jacobs close
In Search of Hope by Anna Jacobs
Trader's Reward by Anna Jacobs
Winds of Change by Anna Jacobs
Trader's Gift by Anna Jacobs
In Search of Hope by Anna Jacobs
Trader's Dream by Anna Jacobs
Place of Hope by Anna Jacobs
Trader's Sister by Anna Jacobs
Winds of Change by Anna Jacobs
Destiny's Path by Anna Jacobs
Short and Sweet by Anna Jacobs
Beyond the Sunset by Anna Jacobs
Farewell to Lancashire by Anna Jacobs
In Focus by Anna Jacobs
Chestnut Lane by Anna Jacobs
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close