Lancashire Lass by Anna Jacobs
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Lancashire Lass
By Anna Jacobs

Lancashire Lass

By (author) See other recent books by Anna Jacobs
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.90 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days



Lancashire Lass by Anna Jacobs

Book Description

Seventeen-year-old Liza is happy working as a lady's maid - until her employers decide to emigrate and her father makes up his mind that she is to wed an older widower whom she detests. Determined to avoid a loveless marriage, Liza plans to run away, and when the widower rapes her in order to force her to marry him, she flees back to the family for whom she worked, and they all set out on the long voyage to Australia. On board ship Liza realises she has fallen pregnant, and that even if she can survive the journey, the demanding life of a settler in 1850s Western Australia will be made even harder by an illegitimate child. But Liza is to find that in addition to deprivation of the worst sort, Australia will offer her opportunities she could never have dreamt of back home in Lancashire.

Buy Lancashire Lass book by Anna Jacobs from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780340748275
ISBN-10: 0340748273
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 113mm x 27mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

Another Man's Child by Anne Bennett Another Man's Child by Anne Bennett

Another best-selling family drama from the author of If You Were the Only Girl and A Strong Hand to Hold.

East End Christmas by Elizabeth Waite East End Christmas by Elizabeth Waite

* An emotional and pageturning story, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Carol Rivers * Christmas is a time for family and love ...

Colours of Love by Rita Bradshaw Colours of Love by Rita Bradshaw

The next novel by the bestselling author of Dancing in the Moonlight, Rita Bradshaw.

Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys by Mary Gibson Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys by Mary Gibson

A Bermondsey factory girl joins the fight against Hitler.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Anna Jacobs

Time for Renewal by Anna Jacobs Time for Renewal, Hardback (September 2015)

Book two in four-part RIVENSHAW series set at the end of WWII in Lancashire, by beloved and bestselling saga writer Anna Jacobs.

Hallam Square by Anna Jacobs Hallam Square, Paperback (September 2015)

The fourth novel in the Lancashire-based Gibson series by beloved saga writer Anna Jacobs.

Spinners Lake by Anna Jacobs Spinners Lake, Paperback (September 2015)

The final novel in the heartwarming Lancashire-based Gibson Family series by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs.

High Street by Anna Jacobs High Street, Paperback (September 2015)

The second in the heartwarming Lancashire saga series that began with SALEM STREET, by Anna Jacobs

» View all books by Anna Jacobs

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » In the mid-19th-century Australia was the New Frontier. People were leaving England in droves in search of adventure: younger sons who had disgraced themselves, the very poor seeking a new life, those running away from personal problems - criminals. Liza Docherty is escaping an enforced marriage to a brute, and a sadistic father. At 18, she's full of optimism even though she's carrying a child - the result of a vicious rape. This is her story, and that of a small group of hopefuls from small-town Lancashire; a rags-to-riches story built on courage, cunning, determination and despair, set in Australia's infertile West. Despite the infertility their new country has much to offer anyone prepared to work hard; though it's far from plain-sailing. Life is precarious, death often comes early, and the new settlers must protect themselves and their property against incursion, as well as natural enemies. Liza finds happiness there for a time - but even Australia is not big enough to hide forever - or to keep memories at bay and, given an unexpected opportunity she returns to England, to discover that there are different kinds of cruelty, that helplessness and hard-living are not always the result of poverty and barbarous ignorance, that sophisticated manipulation. Unhappiness can lurk under fine clothes and inside big houses, and soon she must fight the biggest battle of her life.Drama escalates into melodrama in the last few pages of this novel, as Liza makes her final bid for freedom, peace and happiness. A big, robust novel of wide-open spaces, narrow minds, hard physical toil and the suppression of women by loutish men. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lancashire Lass book by Anna Jacobs and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Anna Jacobs

Anna Jacobs grew up in Lancashire and emigrated to Australia in 1973, but loves to return to England regularly to visit her family and soak up the history. She has two grown-up daughters and now lives with her husband in a spacious waterfront home. Often as she writes, dolphins frolic outside the window of her study. Inside, the house is crammed with thousands of books. Anna Jacobs has also written a series of novels set in Lancashire about the Gibson family, which are available as Coronet paperbacks..

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Anna Jacobs close
Time for Renewal by Anna Jacobs
Time for Renewal by Anna Jacobs
Hallam Square by Anna Jacobs
Spinners Lake by Anna Jacobs
High Street by Anna Jacobs
Ridge Hill by Anna Jacobs
Time to Remember by Anna Jacobs
Mistress of Greyladies by Anna Jacobs
Legacy of Greyladies by Anna Jacobs
Time for Hope: A Contemporary Romantic Suspense by Anna Jacobs
Salem Street by Anna Jacobs
Winds of Change by Anna Jacobs
Time to Remember by Anna Jacobs
In Search of Hope by Anna Jacobs
Peppercorn Street by Anna Jacobs
Time for Hope: A Contemporary Romantic Suspense by Anna Jacobs
Trader's Reward by Anna Jacobs
Mistress of Greyladies by Anna Jacobs
Heir to Greyladies by Anna Jacobs
Place of Hope by Anna Jacobs
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close